First Day of School!

B started school today – a new ECSE school, a *brand* new teacher. And new drama.

I took him on a drive yesterday to show him his new school. He was extremely excited. In fact, so excited that he was sad he was not going there RIGHT NOW.

He was also annoyed that no longer does the bus pick him up at home. This year he is in a PM class to allow him to have a morning session at his “aftercare” (in quotes because he now goes there before school). So a bus is supposed to pick him up there and take him to school.

Except it didn’t. The bus never showed up.

I do know that I contacted his school on Friday (while on vacation). First, I found out that B’s teacher hasn’t even started yet – she is a brand new hire and would be starting on the same day as the students. So, even though we missed the Open House because of vacation, it wouldn’t have mattered because the teacher wasn’t even there.

Then, I found out that the Ass’t Principal didn’t give Transportation the right address for pickup. He gave the address to an entrance that is no longer used by The ARC. The entrance is gated and locked – there is no way of entry. I was not happy about that – especially since I told him the address. He promised to get a change into Transportation ASAP.

Quite frankly, starting our third year, I wasn’t holding my breath that this was going to happen. This was, literally, the day before school. And because I had a doctor’s appointment at the same time, I couldn’t get B to school. Cue various amounts of¬†hyperventilating.

Thankfully, Husband stepped in. He left work and went to B’s “aftercare”. He waited in the parking lot to make sure B’s bus didn’t come (even drove around to make sure he didn’t miss it accidentally) – then got B to school. Even better – Husband also checked all the buses at the school (once getting there) to meet B’s PM driver.

So, I have calls into different places hoping to get this issue resolved. Can’t be a first week of school without some goof, right? ;)

First day of school – his teacher has *no* idea what she has in store!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. I drive a minivan. My son plays soccer and takes karate (albeit adaptive). I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Love, Mayor Bee, School and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First Day of School!

  1. Mindi says:

    How very frustrating!!! I hope it all is sorted out by tomorrow. More importantly I hope he has a fantastic first day of school!!!

  2. Hope it’s all resolved soon! what a pain!

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Hope so too. I talked to someone at the school who *promised* to talk to the Ass’t Principal and let me know the status. I found out that his teacher still hasn’t started yet (she is in another system now and I think she is still finishing up there) – so B has a substitute teacher anyway. It will be very interesting to hear how today went.

  3. Stimey says:

    What a cutie your guy is! And you’re so right, it wouldn’t be the first week without a snafu. :) Hope it gets better and hope your kiddo has a great year!!

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      I sure hope it does – it’s a 40 mile round-trip for Husband and me to leave our job, go get him, drive (literally) around the block to the “old” entrance to meet the bus. Ya think, being the third year we’ve been in ECSE with LoCo, it would get easier? *snort*

  4. Jen says:

    LOL at your abbreviation for assistant!!

    So awesome he wants to be there!!

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      I’m glad someone got my abbreviation. :) In fact, in e-mailing a contact she used “AP” and I couldn’t figure out what she meant. lol

      Yeah, I was worried that B getting bounced around to different places would be an issue, but so far, it hasn’t. Whew.

  5. Pingback: Back to School Again! | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

