Hallelujah – Common Sense Won Out. I Think.

Still working through our transportation drama.

On Tuesday, I take B to the “designated pickup” which of course is INCORRECT but whatever. After waiting for 15 plus minutes, and seeing that now he will be late, I end up taking him myself to school. Which is a long and loud ride because B is wailing the whole time, thinking “he did something wrong and that the bus wasn’t coming”. Poor kid.

I find out later on that the bus was over 20 minutes late, so no wonder we never saw it. I don’t know why it was late, but obviously something happened.

On Wednesday, it was Husband’s turn. The bus got there, and B was, in Husband’s words, “extremely excited”. I’m sure there was probably some squealing, flapping and jumping mixed in as well. Husband tried to explain to the helper what was going on, but alas, they said they couldn’t do anything about it.

Over the past few days, we have made numerous calls. We have left messages. When we get lucky, we get to have conversations to the school and to Transportation.

We find out that:

1. Transportation is “overloaded” and it might take some time to sort everything out (standard line);

2. Changes have to come from the school, not us, as they have “no way of verifying it.” However, since supposedly a change form was faxed from the school, I’m not sure why Transportation wouldn’t allow us to talk to them.

3. Change requests might take two weeks to process, never mind that I gave the correct address to the Ass’t Principal two weeks before school starts;

4. Bus drivers are not allowed to deviate from what is on the paper, even though the gate is locked and CLEARLY marked to use the other entrance.

5. Husband and I are both tired from taking time off work to transport B from, literally, around the corner to this designated pickup spot. It’s annoying, and it takes time out of our workday.

The kicker is that Transportation informs Husband yesterday that THEY DON’T HAVE A CHANGE FORM to process. That did it – smoke came out of my ears like those silly cartoon characters. We HAVE to get this fixed.

Today, we try again. I take B to the stop, and lo and behold, the bus shows up. On time.   I meet the driver and helper who are both very pleasant women.

Woo hoo – B gets to ride the bus. For realsies.

I let them know that  I understand why they need to do “what they have to do” – and that as long as B is safe, it’s okay. I really don’t want to get off on a bad note with them – as I know they do a lot with the children they transport.

I followed said bus to the school – B has a much shorter bus ride than in the past, I need to point out. That is a very good thing. Once I park, I marched in and (politely) requested that the Ass’t Principal fax Transportation the form again. Because, apparently, there was no record of it. I reiterated all the information (down to the fax number, even though I would hope they have that on file, being the county school system and all) and asked to be contacted when it was done.

Driving back to work, 15 minutes later, the Ass’t Principal called. It was all taken care of. The location has been changed to the correct location, and it will be effective tomorrow. It apparently won’t take the standard two weeks because “it’s not a major change”.

*Facepalm*

So, B will have a pickup right outside his AM center to go to ECSE. One his teachers will be able to meet the bus and make sure he gets on. Husband and I will hopefully be able to return to our normal work lives.

But guess who’s going to be there to make sure? Yeah, probably me. :)

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. I drive a minivan. My son plays soccer and takes karate (albeit adaptive). I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Mayor Bee, School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hallelujah – Common Sense Won Out. I Think.

  1. Dear lord! Glad it’s worked out. Fingers crossed for tomorrow! FRIDAY!

  2. Pingback: My Top Ten of 2012 | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

