But Everyone Is Doing It!

So, here it is…I finally have a blog. I’ve been meaning to do it…but you know…stuff gets in the way…like I really should be getting things ready for another busy day tomorrow but yet I’m sitting here in my office determined to post something. At least I have one thing crossed off my list.

This blog mainly serves as a journal chronicling our journey in developmental disabilities. First, my son was diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified (hereafter known as PDD-NOS) in June 2010. On the autism spectrum, it means that he exhibits behaviors that together do not nicely fit on DSM-IV (Autism, Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome and fragile X). He was also diagnosed with dyspraxia – a disorder in fine motor skill development.

Then at the beginning of 2011 he was classified as having Sensory Processing Disorder (SPD). SPD is essentially when the messages from the brain don’t make it to the appropriate sensory function. It’s like a traffic jam on what his brain is saying.

And, although not officially diagnosed yet (because at 3 1/2 how MANY acronyms does one need?) he is on track to also be diagnosed with ADHD. You know, like I need something else going on here.

So – I’ll write a lot about him, his therapies, stuff we go through, etc. Good and bad, frustration and joy. Times when I want to pull out my hair and times when I am thankful for all the work I’m doing to not let these diagnoses get the best of us. Plus some rambling stuff that has nothing to do with him, but will probably keep me sane.

That’s it. And for the five or so reading this (including my sister-in-law) – be patient. I’ll try to catch up to all your awesomeness soon.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Dyspraxia, Life, PDD-NOS, SPD and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But Everyone Is Doing It!

  1. Denise says:

    I actually teared up at your first post! I am so happy you have this outlet and I really think others will benefit from reading your stories.

    And of course I totally dig being the first commenter 🙂

    Like

  2. Jeanie says:

    Hello, I found your blog through your profile listed on the loudoun county special needs play group on Meetup. I look forward to reading your blog because I, too, have a son on the spectrum. He is 2 and attends the PAC in Fairfax county and life hasn’t been easy for our family since his diagnosis.

    Like

Leave a Reply

