The History of Mayor Bee, Part II: Electric Boogaloo

Mayor Bee qualified to receive EI services after the second review by the Committee. I can finally schedule his speech therapy hooray! He qualified for weekly visits from the Speech Language Pathologist (SLP) starting January 2010. The SLP and I decide jointly that he would do best with visits to home and to his daycare. Unfortunately, the only time she had available was 11:00 AM on Thursdays. Really? It’s not like we work down the street or anything – we work fulltime about 20 miles from the house. Alright, alright, fine, whatever.

The first visit at home was fine. The first visit to daycare, however, not so fine. I guess when the SLP calls to update me and starts the conversation with, “I cannot make a diagnosis or anything, but you may want to schedule an appointment with a developmental pediatrician” it cannot be a good sign. Apparently, my son is Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Quite fine at home, but at daycare he is, for lack of a better word, a terror. He pushes, bites, hits…bangs his head against the wall…screams bloody murder…the whole nine yards.

However, I am eternally grateful to her for telling me this. Because apparently it takes a million years to see a developmental pediatrician. Ok, six months…and that’s with having all the information Children’s Hospital needed to start the paperwork. Kid is not getting a security clearance people. So, we are looking at June 2010 – which I guess is fine, if that’s all you can get.

In the grand scheme of things, his EI experience was really only about 6 months before transitioning to Part B. Obviously, I didn’t see it that way back then. In the beginning, progress was slow for both of us. I have to figure out making a picture book and creative ways to get him to learn. Not only that, we have to learn how to get him to understand pictures to words. You know, not in a conventional way, like all the other reindeer.

There is a huge learning curve. I have a host of new vocabulary to learn. Acronyms are flying around like juggling balls. Google is becoming my new BFF. I’m trying to keep up with these new things. It gets frustrating trying to get him to get him to focus on approximating words with pictures. Or, on the flip side, trying to get him to sign as a backup. There is A LOT of throwing things by him during this period.

BUT…it works. He starts to point and actually says something somewhat coherent. Basic stuff, like “car”, “book”, “cup”. Looking back, I think this is when I started saying, “and pieces started falling into place.” And I finally got to experience one of the best moments a mom can ever have. He called me mommy. And he knew it too. It was a good start.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Daycare, Intervention, Mayor Bee, Special Needs, Speech Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The History of Mayor Bee, Part II: Electric Boogaloo

  1. Denise says:

    I love reading about Bee. So much I wasn’t really aware of.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Can Mayor Bee Beat Autism? | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

