Friday Five – August 12, 2011

(Delayed to August 14, 2011 due to Blog Boycott Day)

Five Things I Have Learned So Far With Mayor Bee

1. He is smart. I mean, regardless of his PDD-NOS and whatnot, he can work this to his advantage. You think I’m kidding you? Ask any of his teachers when someone “new” comes into a classroom. He totally gets a look in his eye that goes, “ah ha…I will get them to do what I want.” Either that means he goes into meltdown mode to get extra attention or becomes a suction cup to the victim person for extra love.

2. Boy loves to read. Or be read to. Whatever. He will sit in your lap and would be content for you to read to him. In fact, he uses this trick to think he doesn’t want to take a nap – see point 1.

3. He has an amazing memory. He can recall the most minutiae things. Recently, that entailed him seeing the Subway commercial (the firefighters playing rock, paper, scissors) – then while in a grocery store politely pointing out some rescue guys (who just happened to be wearing blue) that they should be saying, “One Two Three Shoot”.

4. The Energizer Bunny has nothing on him. And don’t give the “well, boys are like that” and “he’s young”…no, the kid runs on some untapped source. He can be up as early as 5:30 AM and yet fight you at bedtime because, “I’m not tired”. You may not be, but Momma certainly is…GO TO BED!

 

Siblings
Divine Miss M and Mayor Bee, May 2011

5. He absolutely adores his baby sister. The whole thing about sibling rivalry and jealousy is absent from this picture. He wants to care for her like we do, right down to imitating our baby talk and telling his parenting tips, like when she needs a bottle, when she spits up, and when “she’s made a poo poo”. This may work to my advantage a few years down the road….muah ha ha…

 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Five – August 12, 2011

  1. Denise says:

    Funny, so similar to T. Hopefully the adoring his little sister part doesn’t mutate into fighting nonstop with his sister 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

