Even the Best Laid Plans…

We do love our sports. There are few things better to me than kicking back with a beer (or three) and watch some type of football game. There are the Nittany Lions (my alma mater), the Hokies (Husband’s alma mater), and the Redskins (b/c we live in DC). Then there is baseball. Husband is a phantical Phillies phan (yes that’s deliberate). I follow because he does – nevermind we now have our baseball team back in the city again (the woeful Nubinals…er, Nationals).

I am a sterotypical Type A personality. I didn’t think it was possible, but I have gotten more skilled in planning and having escape routes after Bee was diagnosed on the spectrum. So, for those who know, it becomes an intricated binder of things to do/bring/alternate plans in your head. Because ANYTHING can happen to the best laid plans.

The two things above brings us to tonight. Husband scored some nice tickets for the Phillies/Nats game. For all of us. Third base line, lower level, very nice seats. Immediately I have to plan out the itinerary and what to bring. First pitch is at 7:05 PM…so with some time to eat/walk around, then parking before, then getting there(because we are no longer cool city people)…you get the point. We even kept the kids home from daycare so that we don’t hurry to pick them up.

I really thought I had it. I really thought it was going to work out. And…then it didn’t.

First off, it’s M’s 4 month birthday. A trip to the doctor, with 4 shots as a gift. Oddly, she decides to react negatively to the shots. She is super duper fussy. Then, Bee decides that he just does not need a nap, even after Husband takes him to the pool to wear him out. Also, so I can get some work done remotely.

We drive, mainly because who wants to haul two kids on the Metro with all that crap? We have to leave even earlier because now 2,500 bikers are coming through the area on the 9/11 Ride to the Pentagon. In August. On a Friday. Still scratching my head on that one.

But, we get to the ballpark in good time…we go and watch batting practice. Then, M is fussy and we’re hungry so we go to get something to eat. B starts to get restless…I get worried. We have our food and decide to go to the seats. After a bit, B is restless again so Husband takes him out for ice cream.

Oh and meanwhile…we see the storm clouds slowly roll in and the sky gets dark. At 6:30 PM. We start to pray for it to pass by, but know full well that DC gets wicked summer storms.

Sure enough, we get through the first two outs, and then it starts to rain storm like a mofo. We have to wrangle the kids up to the Concourse with everyone else, huddled against the wall. M, who was so delightful sleeping, is now jostled and pissed off. B is now officially overstimulated and putting his hands over his ears. I don’t blame him – people shoved in a small area with many drinking heavily does not equate to a good situation.

So, we forlornly decide after about 20 minutes (and the sheets of rain coming down) that we better go home because what’s worse then one screaming child? Two screaming children. It was a good choice, because it took another 20 minutes to wind through the throngs of people JUST STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CONCOURSE FOR NO DAMN GOOD REASON. Husband is carrying B and the bag o’crap; I am sheltering M from the bodies. She is mad and letting everyone know it…which kind of helped clear the path.

Because, really, do you want to deal with a screaming infant? And to the dude who was all, “why do people bring infants to a ball game?” it’s because it’s made out to be a family friendly environment. Which is more than I can say for your young drunken ass.

We finally get into the garage (thank God I anted up the extra $$$ for parking). B is now in a new meltdown zone (thanks no nap) and M, again, hungry. But now, at least we are at the car.  They are both cranky…and while M is a baby, B was definitely not using his words to express himself. Just a lot of whining and crying. Sigh.

Finally, we drive out (about 45 min after originally leaving). I make a wrong turn and have to backtrack to get out of DC. Then B wails in the back seat…apparently he needs to pee. Even though we are still potty training, we used the pullups tonight, just in case. BUT he decides not to “go” in it. I make a side trip to a Wendy’s and it doesn’t even seemed that he peed.

We finally get home (we live about 40 miles outside DC now, us lucky folk). Guess what? When we walk into the house with two woken up cranky kids, the game is starting up again. After a 2 1/2 hour rain delay. Seriously.

Well, I’m sure we will try again in the future. But the picture quality at home is much better. And, the beer is a helluva cheaper.

Phamily Picture

Phamily Picture

Right Before the Heavens Were Unleashed

Right Before the Heavens Were Unleashed

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Siblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Even the Best Laid Plans…

  1. Denise says:

    I’m sorry but I had to giggle reading this. Not because I’m mean but because I’ve been there too. Remember the Hokie game at FedEx field back when T was eight months old? It was actually C that was fussy that night and when he fell asleep in the stands we got the stank eye from the folks behind us. We also took E, R, and C to a Hokie game in Philly when they were young and we had to take C out to the car for a nap. Kids just don’t seem to follow the itinerary for these kinds of events. But look on the bright side, the pic you took is FAB!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Holiday Wrap-Up. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

