Keep Trying…Keep Trying…Don’t Give Up…

Surely I’m not the only mom out there that groans when Yo Gabba Gabba comes on Nick Jr.  I get the supposed hipness of the show – with the “cool” guest stars and bands. Or the kitchness of the 80’s video-esque animation.  Most of the bands I have never heard of so now I guess I’m officially old.

Mayor Bee loves music though, and will not cease to amuse me by running in circles singing “Freeze Dance.” Of course I was raised on The Banana Splits Show, Schoolhouse Rock, Electric Company, and The Great Space Coaster so really, I can’t judge.

There are some strange characters in Gabba Land. First, there’s Muno…who is a studded cyclops (see also: Urban Dictionary definition). There’s his opposite, Gooble, that looks weirdly white and cries ALL.THE.TIME (Gooble’s Origin). The others have funky names too: Foofa (I keep wanting to say Loofah), Toodee (Tootie), Brobee, Plex.

Then there are the songs. Those damn songs are earworms. We all know them: “Clean It Up”, “Party In My Tummy”, “I Like To Dance”, etc. Though I do enjoy The Roots’ song immensely.

There’s one in particular that I have now come to begrudgingly accept as a mantra in my life: Keep Trying (Nick Jr.’s site, bless them, won’t let me embed the original video)

The numero uno question folk ask me when I talk about Mayor Bee and our journey is, “How do you do it?”

And it’s quite simple: because you have to. I mean, when you come right down to it, how does anyone do it? For the majority of people, one does not give up on what’s best for their kids. Whether or not they have a disability, medical condition, or your standard run-of-the-mill neurotypical terrors – you want your kid to succeed in life.

Having a kid on the spectrum does present unique challenges, I give you that. I know I deal with issues over and over with Mayor Bee. You know, not biting your friends, taking a deep breath to calm down, waiting your turn in line, not running out into the street, stop repeating every.damn.thing! (Sorry that was the Echolalila talking)

There are many days that we have setbacks. Lots of days I have my head in my hands thinking how on earth are we going to get through it. You know, like potty training.

Hence, coming back to the point of this post. As a parent, one always has to keep trying, and not to give up. Some day, you’ll get it right. Or, at the very least, a passable grade.

It could be worse – you could be humming “Glitter Hands”.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Music, PDD-NOS, SPD and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keep Trying…Keep Trying…Don’t Give Up…

  1. Denise says:

    You do what you have to in order to give your kids the skills and tools they need to succeed. You just keep trying. It is a great mantra! I will choose to forget that you got it from Yo Gabba Gabba and will NOT watch the video. That show totally creeps me out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

