Dedicated To The One I Love…

Lots of stuff happened over the past two weeks. First it was frantically rushing to get everything ready for vacation. Then I had to take a day off from work (gasp) because my sinus cavities were trying to break out of my skull (luckily, the nice nurse practitioner took pity on me and got my amoxicillin ticket). There was vacation – in and of itself all of the following adjectives:

  • Stressful
  • Chaotic
  • Cacophonous
  • Fatiguing
  • Water-logged
  • Entertaining

So more on all of that in upcoming posts. Today I want to write about the man in my life.

No, not Mayor Bee.

No, not Jackpot da dog.

Husband, silly willy peoples. 

I met my husband in 2001, shortly after September 11th. We met, out of all places, the gym. In a move very much unlike me at the time, I actually was chatty with a strange guy. Over a broken elliptical machine, true story.

After moving in together, buying property together, AND adopting a dog together, we finally tied the knot in 2005. We have gone through a lot together including: my mom’s kidney transplant, the deaths of my dear uncle JT and his grandfather, infertility, and of course being the caboose to my lead train on the Mayor Bee Autism Train.

That didn’t come out quite right. What I meant was, Husband is always the support I need.

Our differing personalities make it work. I am normally itching to go “out”, to do “stuff”. Husband is quite content at home with his loves: Hokies/Phillies/Redskins. I suppose I’m also in that equation, somewhere.

I’m also the one to make the plans, schedule the meetings, make the necessary appointments…in other words, being the Type A big mouth that I am. Husband is what I fondly call, “The Big Guns”…what I call in for the added muscle to get something done. It helps that he works out and can look quite intimidating.

Sidenote: While Husband is actually of Polish descent, he is more mistakenly thought of as Italian. Also, Steve Carrell.

Husband, or Steve Carrell

So, we work pretty well together as a team. I love him for many many reasons, but the one thing is that he always makes (or at least makes a valiant effort) to make me laugh. That surprises most of my friends since he’s normally very reserved around them. But he does have a sense of humor, albeit a bit warped, juvenile and disturbing at times.

It also was passed down to Mayor Bee, who now likes to say, “Let’s go rock the hizzle!” Um, right.

Happy Birthday, Husband. Hope it wasn’t too hard to get through the day.

That’s what she said.

 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

