Clocks and Calendars…

At the Back to School night, there are signup slots to start home visits with the ECSE teacher. Already, I know this is going to be hard. First, there’s only so much time in the day to do these, and after you take out the actual school “day”, and then if each home visit is at least 45 minutes…with travel…yeah, there are maybe two time slots available per  day. So, I take a deep breath and pick on that I think will work. Monday, 2:00 PM.

But then I realize that she wants to meet with US, meaning having Mayor Bee present. I know that is the point of “home visits”, but not all of us have that luxury/dream/nightmare of being at home. She does realize that he goes to a daycare as well? I know mentioned this before but I don’t know if she heard me.The ECSE teacher last year conducted all of her visits with the daycare since, like, we’re not home during the day.

Of course I picked the WRONG time for her to visit, because it would be in the middle of nap time. Damn. Husband now can’t do it because he starts a new contract the same day. Double Damn. I then have to move all the puzzles around for this to work. Because he.has.a.schedule.

He gets off the bus at the daycare around 12:30 PM-ish, in which teacher (who already has the other kids in a calm period as to not take any chances) does the Herculean attempt at getting him to nap. So that’s probably 1:00 PM-ish…and if I have to leave work to go get him, get home/take out the dog/give B a snack/crate the dog/pick up any remnant dishes on the coffee table…yeah, you can see where this is going.

Sigh, this is never easy, is it?

I ended making the decision to leave work earlier and go get B at his school, just to be on the safe side. I talk it over with the teacher, and she agrees. So…imagine my shock when I get to the school at 11:50 AM (like we talked about) and say hi to the teacher in the office…only come to find out…

She put him on the mother bleeping bus anyway. Of course she is apologetic and tries to explain that he won’t be on the bus long (uh, I knew that already) and I could try to follow the bus. Yeah, no thanks…I just drove to the daycare and waited for him there.

It was pretty pointless to try to get him to take a nap anyway once we finally got home, so he just had a snack and I let him watch some Max and Ruby. *Shudder*

Anywhoo, that lack of nap really got him going once he saw that his favorite teachers had come to visit (they didn’t even need to ring the doorbell; damn dog announced their arrival). Typical man – always wanting to impress. Impress he did – showing them how the first floor is his track, how the he likes to climb up things, how awesome he is with the volume of his voice, etc. Meanwhile I can’t keep my attention on most of what the teacher is saying because I’m so worried about what impression my son is making on her in our house.

I realize that she is his teacher and has seen him in pretty much every mood imaginable. Maybe I was thinking that if he behaved well at home that she could “tell” that I was a good mom in raising him. At this point it looks like a blessed free-for-all in my house. I even tried to clean up so that it didn’t look like we lived in a Toys backward R Us.

One of the things she honed in on was his schedule once he got home. Um…well, we kinda have one. You know…get home from work…try to make dinner…bath…bedtime. More of like a routine, per se, not finely tuned. And is always interrupted by something or other (working late, evening meeting, etc). Her suggestion is to “tighten up” the schedule so that B understand clear boundaries on what to do between the time we get home and the time he goes to bed.

Ah, the great juxtaposition…a kid like B does very well with a routine and a schedule, but unfortunately, life does not always follow a schedule. Mind you, the whole home visit actually took him OUT of his schedule, but I digress. 😉

We only have 2 1/2 hours (3 tops) in order for him to: play (both free and structured play with us in which I should time), eat, bathe, sleep. But I have to squeeze in making dinner, cleaning up, giving him the bath, reading the stories before bed. Oh, don’t forget M – who, you know, gets hungry and needs changed once in a while. Or the dog, who pretty much just snoozes on the couch all day until we get home in which he turns into the other child…

So, while I’m trying to jigger this schedule around and upside down, any thoughts or success stories would be great. Especially, if you are like us, and have other things going on that disrupts “THE CALENDAR” (as I will call it from now on) and how you work around it.

I’m all about being organized, but you know, I have limits.

P.S. I did succeed in convincing her to also conduct a visit and speak with his teacher at the daycare. 🙂

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Intervention, PDD-NOS, School and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clocks and Calendars…

  1. Denise says:

    Ah, the schedule. We do the routine thing more than the schedule because we have the same issues with life getting in the way. Each day is different for one reason or another so on Tuesdays the routine is X while on Thursdays the routine is Y. It’s the best we can do. Sometimes it isn’t “tight” enough to keep the kids from freaking but I have to try to stay sane too, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

