Pumpkins and Monsters and Freakouts…oh my!

Tis the season of cool weather, colorful leaves, pumpkin pickin’…and little kids dressed up in strange costumes whose main goal is to stock up on as much sugary snacks as possible.

Yep…Halloween. Bwa ha ha ha!

Halloween, like other holidays in our household can be hit or miss. Of COURSE the candy is a big hit with Mayor Bee. And for someone that already thrives on some sort of undiscovered energy source, adding sugar just puts it into overdrive.

That’s only the start of it. Last year, he wouldn’t wear the mask with the costume because it irritated his eyes.

Last year, it definitely didn’t start on a good note. The ‘hood always has some sort of community parade/costume contest/magic show. Last year it was really nice so it was held in one of the open common areas.

Unfortunately for us, apparently the magic show was BEFORE the parade. And at the time, Mayor Bee was not about sitting still, or being patient. Ok to be fair, he’s still not too wild about that whole patience thing. We tried our hardest but he didn’t last more than 10 minutes at the event – he would run off and not listen to our instructions to come back. Or, even worse, he would shriek so loud (because of course he thought it was a game of chase) which disrupted the other kids’ enjoyment.

We had no other choice but to hoist him up and out of there. I was pregnant at the time – so the hormones didn’t help – but I experienced one of the classic “my son is not like the other kids/oh my god people are judging us/why is my son not listening to me” episodes that parents of ASD kiddos frequently have.

Still, we made the decision that it was just one (of many) minor setbacks we experience, and that we should just push forward with the trick-or-treating later that evening. I’m glad we did because he did have a lot of fun.

We took him trick-or-treating by ourselves because we really didn’t know how he would react.  He did pretty well, with the exception of assuming he could just waltz into our friend’s homes as if he belonged there. (Lucky for us, we have EXTREMELY understanding friends).

This year, his ECSE class will have a Halloween party. And we will try again at the ‘hood party. Maybe this time he’ll sit still for the magician. Or at the very least, try not to pull the rabbit out of the dude’s hat.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkins and Monsters and Freakouts…oh my!

  1. Denise says:

    I can just see B walking up to the front door and right on in looking for the candy dish. Why wait outside?

    Like

Leave a Reply

