Friday Thirty: Tidings of Thanksgiving

I have seen friends on Facebook do the “30 Days of Thankful Challenge“. Quite frankly, I have difficulty thinking of one each and every day to put in my status.

So, instead of my sometimes-posted “Friday Fives” – I will just spill them all out now and be done with it, mmmkay? I mean, I think it goes without saying that we are thankful for family, friends, basic necessities…blah blah blah.

30 Days of Thankful

I am thankful for….not in any particular order…

1. Husband. My lifelong soul mate. The one that always tries to make me laugh, even when I don’t want to. The one that will move heaven and earth for me. The one that makes nonsensical songs in his head and sing them ad nauseum until I want to bang his head with a rolling pin…oh sorry I got distracted there for a second. Love you more than a fat kid love cake.

2. Mayor Bee. The prize for winning the Battle of Infertility. You were a long awaited prize though. Worth every little bit.

3. Miss Mayita. The surprise we didn’t expect (see #2 above). I swear, the happiest baby on earth. Her face lights up a room and people flock to her.

4. My parents. The ones who showed me how working hard can take you places you never thought you could go. I’m so happy I could make you proud of what you have accomplished raising me. I only hope I can accomplish that with my kids.

5. My crazy dog Jackpot. You see, Jack is our first child. We rescued him in 2004 from a rescue group.  He was abandoned on the side of a road, poor guy. He gives us unconditional love. Even if he tries to squirm his way between us in bed. He stayed suction-cupped to me when I was pregnant with both kids and protects them fiercely. He is much older now but still will want to tear apart the pizza delivery man when he rings the bell.

7. My home. Even if my home value has sank so far that you need a pulley to get it out of the quicksand, I love it. I don’t even care if you tsk tsk at my cookie cutter home in Suburban Wasteland. I have lived in crappier living arrangements and this is MUCH BETTER.

8. My extended family. It’s small, but it will do. Especially my Aunt Shirley, who is the bee’s knees. Also, my fairy godmother growing up. She’s almost 80 and is on Facebook, which is more than I can say for my parents. AND, she actually uses it correctly. She snowbirds in FL and runs the ‘hood down there with her golf cart.

9. My inlaws. I have a crazy SIL. I have a crazy MIL who I actually share my name with (that’s fun at family gatherings). Husband has so many extended family that live in this area that houses bulge during the holidays. Love them all – they are wonderful people and I’m glad I married into the “nutsy cuckoo-ness” (one of my MIL’s favorite phrases).

10. My van.  We (rather, I) “broke down” over the summer and purchased as minivan. So while it’s a Mom-Mobile, it’s tricked out with 2 DVD monitors (that can play two different DVDs, plus you can hook up a Playstation in the back), satellite radio, onboard navigation, leather seats with TWO heat settings,  reverse camera/sensor and so forth. Next time I need a timeout, I’m totally in there.

11. My job. I may bitch from time to time about my career or consider quitting and do the SAHM bit. I don’t know how you SAHMs do it. I salute you with these store bought cookies. I love having a career. I do enjoy the work that I do, the majority of the time. Plus, my job (which I never thought I would be here after 8 years) has allowed me to build enough klout clout/flexibility for all the extracurricular crap. Just this week alone – M had another doctor’s appointment because she hasn’t quite quit whatever crud she’s hacking up, B had a dentist appointment, and this afternoon we have a Thanksgiving celebration at daycare.

12. My friends. I love you all – you keep me focused and sane, yet can make me smile at the drop of a hat. You know who you are.

13. Having enough to eat. So many do not. Nothing funny about that.

14. Mayor Bee’s support staff. By this, I mean his ECSE teacher and assistant, all his therapists, the staff at the aftercare who work so hard with him. The progress he has made has been astounding. It is hard to believe that two years ago he barely said 5 words and his main source of communication was biting. It’s all due to their hard work. I am still trying to learn to be a better advocate/mom and they are extremely patient. 🙂

15. Our reproductive endocrinologist. In the Battle of Infertility, we had to call in the calvary. When we chose to go this route, they were ready to help. Even though we were up against the wall with extremely low chances of success, our doctor was extremely hopeful. We gave it a shot, literally. During the exhausting process of bloodwork, an HSG, ultrasounds…then onto the Clomid, injections, & an IUI, they were very supportive. Four years later, I have the privilege of listening to B have a meltdown because I told him he couldn’t have ice cream for breakfast.

16. My DVR. Seriously, I don’t know how I lived without this awesome invention. I cannot believe I balked at Husband for suggesting it when we moved into our home five years ago. It’s also a lifesaver in case we need to pull a show up to occupy B and we’re too lazy to get out a DVD.

17. Living in the United States. I am thankful for the freedoms we have, that we sometimes take for granted.

18. Facebook. I love being able to stay in touch with friends, old and new. And, I’m old enough where even if there are some embarrassing photos of childhood, someone has to actually SCAN them. However, that does not prevent me from sharing cutey pictures of my kids.

19. Digital cameras. Remember back in the day where you had 35mm film? Polaroids? 110 film? The little flash cube that you put on top of the camera? Where you had to carefully ration your picture taking? And then after having to take them to be developed they still came out like crap? No wonder there aren’t a lot of pictures of me from childhood. Now, I can take 5000 crappy pictures and store them forever digitally. Awesome.

20. Being able to go to college. I was the first person in my family to go. Still paying student loans almost 15 years later. I wouldn’t trade it for the memories.

21. Being able to study abroad. Definitely a perk of changing to a double major in International Business. I was able to spend a semester in Germany. I got to travel a lot. I loved it. One day I’ll prove to Husband that Europe is not full of dark, stanky castles.

22. Good health. Shockingly, when you consider my family’s genetic history. However, my primary care doctor and bloodwork all point to excellent health. Well, now I just have to lose this extra weight…

23. McDonald’s fries. I don’t know what they lace those potatoes with, but dammit all I eat every single one.

24. Girl’s Night Out. Seriously, some days you just have to let it all hang out.

25. Spas. Massages. Pedicures. Facials. You name it, I love being pampered.

26. Invitations. Even if I can’t go, it’s nice to be wanted.

27. Comfy sweatshirts that Husband says are five times bigger than what they should be yet I say they fit perfectly.

28. Twitter. I can get gossip, news, updates in 140 characters or less.

29. The difficult times. Without them, I wouldn’t be able to enjoy the good times or “Magic Moments”.

30. You, for actually getting through to the bottom of this list. Obviously, you find me that interesting to go through this list. Muah!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Magic Moments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday Thirty: Tidings of Thanksgiving

  1. Denise says:

    Wait, did you say I am crazy? You did. Well, it’s true, so carry on 🙂

    I love your thankful list. I am thankful for many of the same things.

    I still can’t wrap my head around my brother singing nonsensical songs. I am pretty sure I have NEVER heard him sing.

    See ya at the next ginormous family gathering!

    Like

  2. I love this I’m going to have to do something simular. I too have a crazy large family. I”m SAHM but sometime miss working so it really goes both ways.

    Like

    • I have friends that are SAHMs and seriously they are great. I think we all face challenges in our homes, no matter what our situation. Believe me, I think there are more similarities than differences!

      Glad you enjoyed the list. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: Stretched Thin. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

