We’re Going to the Zoo!

An unusual stretch of mild weather has hit DC. (We will be punished for this in February I’m sure)

We decided to take advantage of the fine weather and just…get out. Do something.

If you are in the DC Metro area – I highly recommend heading out to the Reston Zoo. I love this place. Exotic animals, a wagon ride, a petting zoo…but yet it’s not big enough to overwhelm you. (Note: I also love the National Zoo but the distance to drive from the house plus all the other things that go into scheduling an ASD kid’s day out…well, you know how that can go. It actually tires me out thinking about it.)

Anyway I had won “Zoo Boo” tickets. It’s a neat event at the place where the kids can dress up and trick-or-treat plus hang out with the animals. It’s the weekend before Halloween. However, that weekend just sucked, meteorologically-wise…it was cold, rainy and outright dreary.  The Zoo actually canceled Saturday’s Zoo Boo, which is the one we wanted to go to; Sunday we couldn’t make it because of other Halloween plans. The very nice person at the Zoo understood and saved the tickets for us to use another day.

Today was the last day that the Zoo was open until March.  Today was the day I remembered that I had won those tickets.

And so we were off to the Zoo!

Lucky for us, it was not crowded. There was plenty of room to walk around, even with Mayita in her stroller (though with the gravel and invevitable animal droppings, it was mandatory to wipe down the wheels). The only concern I had was the wagon ride. The wagon goes around the property and they have other animals that will walk right up and beg for food. Friendly little buggers.

However, there were a lot of people waiting for said wagon ride (which made me a little anxious) . I took Mayor Bee by myself while Husband waited with Mayita. I was concerned that B was going to freak out with a) waiting for the lineup since you know patience is not a virtue praticed by my son (shocker) and 2) being confined in a wagon with said people “all up in his space” feeding the animals and taking pictures.

And there was my “Magic Moment”. He was perfect. He stayed nicely put, asked lots of questions (ok, some of it echolia but HEY I’ll take it), and seemed very interested in the animals. I mean…there was a ZEBRA. And a WATUSI. It’s not just a dance, that crazy watusi. And a two hump camel (or Wump, if you are into Dr. Suess).

One Zebra

Do the Watusi

A Wump With Two Humps

Afterwards, we strolled around the rest of the Zoo, with no real timetable for anything else. B did not bolt. We were able to let him observe the animals without having to constantly reminding him not to try and climb over the fencing. He even got into a singing match with a macaw, but the macaw won because…well macaws are LOUD.

Finding out just how loud a macaw can be

Ha - take that kid!

So, this is one of those “some days are better than others” for us. Woo hoo!

Motorin'

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re Going to the Zoo!

  1. Denise says:

    What a great day! So glad it was fun for everyone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

