Friday Five – December 2, 2011

Five Favorite Holiday DVDs to watch over…and over…and over…

As the holiday season has now officially commenced, we are knee deep in holiday specials.

This is one of those times that I’m so happy to live in the advanced technological age we do. Instead of the old school “wait anxiously for the TVGuide to tell us when such-and-such will be on” or fumbling with a VCR (or BetaMax!) tape to schedule the recording – we can simply just buy the DVD from Amazon.com. Or, DVR it (still requires the ability to schedule the recording though).

Mayor Bee loves his holiday shows. And, like a true kid on the spectrum, he will have no issue watching the same show continuously. Introducing him to new things is always a little difficult, but once he’s used to something…watch out!

1. A Charlie Brown Christmas – the music alone makes him all giggly and dancy. This clip is from last year…when he is imiating the dance at school. 

2. Mickey’s Christmas Carol – this is Husband’s favorite Christmas related special. And while it’s difficult to explain just why Ebenezer Scrooge McDuck is in a cemetery with the Ghost of Christmas Future and “where is Tiny Tim?”…he does enjoy trying to imitate the British accent.

3.  Max & Ruby’s Christmas – the first episode alone drives me bonkers. It will too if you deal with echolia. Max wakes up during the night and finds Santa downstairs. One word: “Why?” Over and over. Kid – doncha have any other words to say to Santa, like, oh, where are my parents in this episode?

4. How the Grinch Stole Christmas – the animated version. NOT the freaky Jim Carrey vehicle which still freaks me (notice I did not say Mayor Bee) out.  In my mind, that movie does not exist. To be fair, I only watched a portion of the movie but I was so turned off by the CGI and the makeup I had to turn it off. It’s a 10 minute children’s book…how on earth did it get stretched out to a full feature film?  Back to the cartoon, B loves “The Who Song” and the cute little dog Max. Of course we have to explain that we don’t hitch anything to our dog…

The Good Grinch

The Freaky Grinch

5. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer – this is a recent addition to our collection. Personally, I like the whole aspect of “being a misfit and in the end being your true self” story. Even if there is teasing and an whole song about being a Misfit. I guess it makes it all the more real in having a kid that is a bit (ok A LOT) quirky. Besides, there is no more awesome name than Yukon Cornelius.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Friday Five, Life, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Five – December 2, 2011

  1. My kids love Max and Ruby it kind of reminds me of Little Pop Star and My David he’s always trying to tell her things that she doesn’t really understand and he’s usually right. I too always wonder where are there parents they have a grandma but you never see a mom or dad.

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Bee’s Charlie Brown dance is awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

