Merry Untraditional Christmas…

It started out simple, really.

I have to take a certain amount of days off (“use it or lose it”) at work. I have a few days that I needed to take off. I scheduled the Thursday and Friday off before Christmas (knowing we get Monday off for holiday) – just so I can get some time to myself. Lord knows I need it – the adjustment with adding Mayita to our family and Bee’s continuous cycle of…well just him being him, work, etc…I’ve been off my game.

I’m tired. I know it. I’m snippy. I’m grumpy. I’m snappy. And so, I’ve been longing for two days where I can have the kids at daycare. I scheduled some spa appointments to use a gift card Husband gave me oh…well, some time ago. I thought about shopping, cleaning the house for Christmas (yes I volunteered to host Husband’s family).

Well, the powers that be obviously felt that it wasn’t my time to relax yet.

Princess Mayita is sick. First, it was the double ear infection late last week. Then, she was exposed to RSV…and it arrived Tuesday morning. In the midst of preparing for a proposal to go out that day, I had to rearrange everything to pick her up and schlep to a late appointment to be told that.  RSV is a very typical daycare malady – and it spreads like wildfire through the classes. The doctor ‎highly recommended we do not take her back to daycare for at least the rest of the week. So, there goes the spa appointments…or doing anything out of the house.

B’s ECSE (that’s Early Childhood Special Education, for those not already initiated to the acronym world) follows public school schedule, so he does not have school for about 1 1/2 weeks. Because we pay fulltime tuition at his aftercare, he is allowed to attend full days when his ECSE is closed. And so he went Thursday. And Friday. And both days he was sent home for behavioral issues. When his aftercare calls for that, I know it’s bigtime. They try very hard to work within his parameters – so I cannot fault them when they have to call. There was a gamut of issues – not listening, hitting, biting, throwing things…it was apparent that he was not happy.

Obviously the change of schedule would affect him. Silly me for even thinking he could adjust quickly. When he progresses quickly, I become overconfident – that’s why I feel so much more of a failure when he regresses. Regression is quite common. Plus, like other kids, I’m sure he was probably jealous of the extra attention we were giving her. However, he may also be getting sick, as he has started hacking Friday. Which shouldn’t surprise me as Mayita has RSV – in older kids and adults, the virus can manifest more like a cold.

But with two sick kids, and a Husband that has some other bug, we had to make the hard choice to uninvite family to Christmas. We’ll just have to reschedule it. And while that relieves the fact that the infested pigsty that is our home escapes cleaning, I’m sad. Well, first I wanted a clean house. Also, I wanted to shake off all the bad mojo going on and move forward with having a “normal” family Christmas.

As I typed that above, I’m shaking my head thinking…what the hell is normal? I spent many a childhood holiday without one or both of my parents at home. My mother, when she went back to work as a certified nursing assistant (CNA), worked second shift. My father was an electrician journeyman, then worked at a paper mill. Unlike a typical office setting that I sit at a good 8 hours a day, their jobs were always open. It meant that there were times that they  had to work on holidays. And we always managed to celebrate, even when making homemade pizza because there was no point in cranking out a traditional meal.

So I’ll just have to chalk it up to a Christmas to tell my kids later on in life. It’s not quite how I wanted to celebrate Mayita’s first Christmas. But we still have a lot to be grateful, and I really have to keep telling myself that.

Maybe I’ll even get that one gift my mom always asks for, a little peace and quiet.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Daycare, Family, Life, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS, SPD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Merry Untraditional Christmas…

  1. Denise says:

    Nothing ever quite works out but the kids are happy so it’s all good

    Like

Leave a Reply

