2011: A Look Back

Wow.

Is it really almost over? 2011, I mean.

In our life, the year officially ends and begins on the same day, New Years Eve. You see, that’s Mayor Bee’s birthday.

(Insert some random inane comment about tax deduction. I’ve heard them all. By the way, that gets phased out as income increases. Just sayin’.)

Anyway, Mayor Bee turns FOUR on Saturday. One, two, three, FOUR. Wow.  Once again, we will splurge on a bouncy house party for him and at least 25 of his closest friends.  If the past is any indication, he will do fine with the craziness – as a sensory seeker he does enjoy bouncing (hence, our trampoline in our house) and, as he calls it, “exercising.”

As I confirmed final numbers and ordered the pizza, drinks and balloons, I calculated in my head how much this is going to cost us. Yikes, I’m hyperventilating thinking about it (we still need to bring in cupcakes). But – I’m still happy and proud that he has progressed in the past year that I say what the hell.

Some Magic Moments of Mayor Bee’s year:

1. Potty training! Finally, FINALLY, something clicked in his head about that whole “going to the bathroom” bit. And while he still wears a pullup at night  – he is wearing underwear during the day. Not only that, he actually recognizes that he has to go to the bathroom. Not just for peeing but bowel movements also. Praise be to God above. If I could cue the Hallelujah Chorus in this post, I would do that too.

I’m not going to lie – I thought for sure we were not going to get to this point. Mind you we technically started potty training September 2010. We had some progress, then regressed when baby girl was born. Then back on track with peeing. But the bowel movements – ugh, that was the worst. I never did cloth diapering. And after my experience in dumping out poop and washing out underwear, no thank you.

In our case, his interoceptive sense was all out of whack. He could not determine when he really had to go. And I blamed him. And I blamed myself. But it was truly a disconnect between his mind and body parts – and it was no one’s fault, just the way it was.

For more information on the interoceptive sense – check out The SPD Companion link here.

We tried lots of different techniques – rewards, half-naked, stickers, M&Ms. I would have gotten him a freaking pony if that would have worked. However, it (like everyone says) took time, patience, and a lot of support from his network (namely: his ECSE staff and aftercare teachers).

So what if every single time we go into a bathroom we have to flush it, just to make sure it is a toilet?

2. Big Brother! Yes, Mayor Bee became big brother in 2011 when his baby sister was born. He really got himself into the role. He loves making her laugh and tries to show her how to get toys to work. If he could, he probably would feed her. And carry her. Well, pretty much like the Abominable Snow Rabbit:

There’s not a lot of jealousy. Some normal stuff – like when I was recovering it was difficult to return to his bedtime routine and that was hard for him. And recently with M’s illnesses (here) he definitely had some jealousy about that. But he really enjoys when she laughs at him because he knows he’s made her happy.

3. Swimming! In one of my other posts (ahem) I was totally blown away by how much he loves swimming. He has worked through many of his fears (like putting his head underwater) this past year. Nevermind that he wants to channel his inner Michael Phelps in the bathtub.

We signed up for a new round of swimming starting next month. We are trying an Adaptive Recreation program through the county’s Park and Recreation division, versus what we did last year. It’s definitely cheaper. Plus, it will be a chance to broaden our network of special needs activities – you know, since The Little Gym trial wasn’t all that successful.

4. Transition! In the fall, B started a new ECSE. We had to switch schools because the transporation option available last year would not be extended. I was sad, and a little frustrated by working with the school system. However, I am happy to report that he has blossomed in this class as well. We are continuing to work on how to “calm down” when frustrated or upset. Versus, oh…say, biting/kicking/hitting/throwing.

We are coming up on our 1 year anniversary of the “new” aftercare and still very happy with the Center. He also transitioned to a new classroom there – which would probably be enough to make anyone stressed out. However, one good thing about changing ECSE classrooms is that his new school is MUCH closer to his aftercare, making transition to naptime a little less difficult. Of course, some days are harder than others but his aftercare teacher has taken it on the chin (and I mean that literally) to work with him.

So, with that, we look forward to 2012 – what will it bring? I wish I knew. Well, I do know one thing – it will definitely be a ride. Hold on tight!

Big THANKS for all of you for finding this blog, and even more importantly, coming BACK to the blog to read my ramblings and musings. I still don’t know what the hell I’m doing though, so 2012 shouldn’t be held to any type of high standard in the blogosphere. 😉 

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Dyspraxia, Life, Magic Moments, PDD-NOS, Siblings, SPD, Special Needs, Speech Therapy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2011: A Look Back

  1. Denise says:

    Looking forward to the new year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

