Virginia Autism News via **Autism Votes **

On January 12, 2012, advocates will be meeting with lawmakers in Richmond concerning the massive monkey wrench thrown into the signed autism reform law.

If I were to try and explain this simply (and I’ll try) – lawmakers passed the bill in April 2011. It was a MAJOR victory for autism advocates, as legislation has repeatedly been voted down in Assembly.

Governor McDonnell signed it in May 2011 with an addition that Board Certified Behavior Analysts (BCBA’s) needed to be licensed by the Board of Medicine. Attorney General Ken Cuccinelli then determined that portion to be invalid, because the Board of Medicine lacks the authority to license BCBA’s. And so…nothing has happened to move it forward.

A big cluster-f, if you ask me. Because of that technicality, parents that have been waiting for the big breakthrough of mandated coverage have now been put back where they have started. On hold. The initiative, for the most part, has been in a stalemate.

Delegate Tag Greason (who does serve Loudoun County but is not my representative) and Senator Janet Howell, original sponsors of legislation, are working to fix this debacle.

But they need help – and if you are a Virginia resident and can either contact your local representative it would be a worthwhile effort.

For more information please see this link: Virginia – **Autism Votes **.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, PDD-NOS and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

