What’s This Whole Thing About Deja-Vu Again?

So, once again, we are forced to confront another possible major change.

As I wrote previously, Mayor Bee is “on leave” from his aftercare. Eerily in the same fashion as last January, we are scrambling to figure out what to do. Behind the 8 ball. Two strikes. Third down.

What I believe has happened is a culmination of many factors. The holidays, M’s illness, no school…all that created bad news for Mayor Bee’s schedule. I knew the first week “back on schedule” would be hard. But not this bad.

As it turns out, B’s teacher has been sick this week. Which now makes even more sense. Since she was not there to keep his schedule in line, it seems that no one else else knew what to do. B wasn’t handling the change very well. Or he tried to manipulate the system. (Hey, I’m honest – my kid can manipulate just about anyone.)

We don’t know how much longer his teacher will be out sick. As far as I am aware she has not been told what has happened.

Whatever has transpired while his teacher has been now, has caused Administration to take notice. Perhaps his teacher wasn’t “documenting” everything. (I can say with certainty that there had not been as many incident reports recently.) Perhaps no one else really “knew” the system his teacher created. Perhaps B was upset at the attention M has been getting and would have lashed out anyway.

But one thing is certain: we do not know how much longer we have there.  Well, first off, nothing can happen until his teacher comes back. I wish I can say that other teachers can just easily step in and work with him.

But really, let’s be realistic. I don’t know if they have the time, the energy, to focus on Mayor B with numerous other demands. I know they love his energy, his sweetness, his joy. But just as quickly, he can get frustrated, angry, and explosive. I know – we live this every day. It’s a lot.

And then the bigger question is: is it worth it?

I have fought for so long to keep him in a mainstream setting as much as possible. Even when he started his ECSE classes – I kept him in aftercare. I thought keeping him in such a setting would help him adjust. But what if it’s not? This is the second year we have dealt with a similar issue. I’m tired of once again juggling work schedules to figure out who is getting him from school. I’m tired of searching databases for possible nanny choices that have special needs knowledge.

Of course, this year we have a new wrinkle – baby M. Who, for all intents and purposes, is quite content at the same aftercare. And they love her too. Do I pull her too? Can I find a place that can accomodate both (which is what I thought we found this time)? Or do I leave her there and B goes somewhere else, essentially admitting failure?

Lots of questions that are swirling in my head. I have no idea what the next step is right now. I guess we’ll just take it one day at a time. Meanwhile, I’m getting my home computer revved up for some work at home time.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in IEP, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS, The Lows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s This Whole Thing About Deja-Vu Again?

  1. Denise says:

    I had to say something about this – “essentially admitting failure”. I know it is very hard to keep perspective but doing something to better accommodate the kids isn’t failure. It is awesome parenting!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Switch. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

