Watch Me Juggle the Balls Up In the Air

How I'm feeling after this week.

Well, while we wait (and wait, and wait) for his aftercare to figure out what exactly they want to do regarding B, we had to work around our schedules.

Monday: School holiday (MLK Jr.) so Husband took the day off and stayed home with B. I still had work and dropped M off at daycare as normal. As I walked in with her, lo and behold was the director hanging out in Reception. Awkward? Perhaps. But I plastered on my best cordial grin and was polite and quickly got M into her room ASAP. Husband reported that it was a good day – they did some errands and hung out at the house.

I pick M up early because I had to take her to her 9 month appt. Coming home, I decide to take B to one of those multifunctional activity places. I had just joined a local special needs playgroup and some were going to meet there. Well, I didn’t find them, and it was sensory overload. I should have known better. Duh, it’s a holiday, LOTS of kids are going to be there. It wore me out overseeing him – especially since there were so many damn kids around. There were some tense moments, but he did alright. Cost me $10 though. Grade: B

Tuesday: This starts my half days in the office/half days working from home. First part – normal. Put B on bus, get ready, get M ready, drop off at daycare, get to work. Crunch about 4 hours of work into a 3 hour stint at office, bolt out of office, speed over to school to get him, get home. Fire up the computer, login to the network. I let B hang out in the office – he “takes attendance” and “lunch list” (lots of scribbling and drawing) while I work. Finally (finally!) he gets a nap in and I’m able to concentrate. Husband gets M on the way home and she has a good day. Grade: B

Wednesday: Starts off fine – everyone gets to their intended destination. My mom calls to say she is leaving to come down (oh wait, did I tell you I was having a procedure done and she was coming to help us before this all started? Oh yeah, that.)

At work, I get an e-mail from B’s teacher asking to stick around for an update. Ok – I think it will only take 20 minutes. It’s over an hour. I meet “a” Resource Teacher (note the quotes – she wasn’t our assigned Resource Teacher, just one to give me a sense of what the Resource Teacher does. We have a lengthy conversation about keeping things consistent at home, school and aftercare (admittedly we are struggling at home some days). We leave, I have to stop and get food because I have a blinding headache. We get home and B is so wired and even after putting him upstairs he refuses to nap and instead serenades me with a mix of wails and shrieks. Awesome. Mom gets here; I hand him off so I can get some last minute stuff done. Grade: D

Thursday: I’m not feeling so hot. Either I have a bug or the stress is starting to get to me. My stomach is gurgling and I’m feeling extremely cranky. There’s a lot I have to get down at work (physically, like meeting prep materials that have to be Fed Ex’d) and I feel like I will keel over at the binding machine. I once again take a chance with getting pulled over to pick him up from school. I have to orient my mom to the afternoon routine since she’ll have him on her own Friday. Thankfully he does nap, giving me about an hour of solid work time before the fragmented madness begins again. Grade: C

Friday: Well, at least I don’t feel like visiting the bathroom every few minutes. Today since Mom’s in town, I “only” have to go get him, get him home and then get back to work. Unfortunately since my procedure is on Monday, I have to also wrap everything at work, leave instructions for some things, make sure everything is in its right place. I did manage to do that (staying late helped). Exhausted getting home. Luckily B behaved for my mom in the afternoon…well until Husband came home with M and B just went “off” like a little keg of dynamite. Grade: B-

There you have it. And as for an update – the first day B could possibly go back would be this Wednesday and that is after the new Resource Teacher (who we STILL don’t know is assigned to him) will get to the aftercare and speak to them. Even so, B will be back on a probationary period, meaning that if it doesn’t work…well, we’ll see what happens. B’s ECSE teacher did meet with his aftercare teachers (not Administration though) and is trying to get some new things together to help them when he is there. Like I said, nothing truly definite at the moment. But until the green light is lit, we will still have to adjust schedules to get him from school – you know, since the bus can’t just bring him home instead of the aftercare.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Daycare, IEP, PDD-NOS, School, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Watch Me Juggle the Balls Up In the Air

  1. Definitely tough to juggle working and the kids. I tried for a while and felt like I was running a marathon every single day. I figured that while my boy is young, this is the time when I need to focus on him. Easier said than done of course.
    Hang in there – January has always been bad for us too. Very agressive and horrible behaviours – they make you feel like you are constantly about to lose it, which is very stressful.
    It will change though and they do move on to a new phase and even though that will bring new challenges, at least you are moving forward. Gee – I think I’m talking to myself as much as I am to you! Thanks for that little bit of self therapy! Hope it helped you as much as me.

    Like

  2. Jen says:

    You get an A++++ every day in my book. Hang in there!!!

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    Rough and tiring but you guys did great! Bee is so lucky to have you guys

    Like

Leave a Reply

