Hurry Up, and Wait. Wash, Rinse and Repeat.

I finally spoke to B’s new Resource Teacher.

She seems very nice. She apologized for just getting to me. Granted she just got assigned on Monday and it was Wednesday that I spoke to her, so no more than two days.

But that’s how it is. A couple days here, a couple days there…and now we are finishing week two of “throwing everything into a pot and see what cooks up” routine.

At the risk of sounding whiny (eh, too late for that) – I had surgery on Monday. It’s kind of painful.  It’s Day Four and while I’m moving slowly, I’m getting a bit nauseous trying to keep track of which kid has to go where.

You can probably tell how annoyed with the whole situation I am. (Hint: A lot.)

I just get so tired of rushing around, getting what someone needs in order to move forward…and then just wait in purgatory. Waiting for some magic hand to move and the skies to open, promising a glorious new day. Of course all this waiting means we are still without any permament solution. Which means B continues to miss out on what he needs every day by going to the aftercare. Oh, and yeah, we are still paying for this, meaning my bank account is getting screwed as well.

All I can say is thank goodness I agreed to let my mom come down to help with my recovery. She offered to help before this whole drama started. Originally I turned her down, thinking I could handle it.

Husband has done a fabulous job, but when he’s at work, he’s not able to do everything else. Like pick up B from ECSE. Sadly, I cannot make the bus reroute itself and take B back to our house. So we have to drive to his school and pick him up, bring him home, and try our damndest to get him to rest. Because he thinks this is all fun and there is no reason to get a rest when Mommy and Grandma are around.

Then, M still needs to be taken to daycare. All of her bottles have to be made, plus her colorful choices of pureed baby goo. Someone has to get her checked in. And I can’t lift anything above a few pounds right – so a nice, jolly 20 lb infant is out of the question. Grandma also is helping around the house – getting dishes done, clothes washed.

I grossly undersestimated how much recovery time I need. It was effort just getting out the recliner to go to the bathroom sometimes.

So – I talked to the Resource Teacher. They have come up with some strategies to take to the aftercare. And hopefully B can start back on Monday. But it will not be easy. His teachers will have to work to get him to work within their schedule, for the limited amount of time they have him. He’ll still be on probationary status, which means if it doesn’t work out…well, we will scramble once again.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Daycare, IEP, Life, PDD-NOS, School and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hurry Up, and Wait. Wash, Rinse and Repeat.

  1. Denise says:

    Good luck to you guys! Try to rest some. Thank goodness for grandparents!

    Like

  2. I know exactly how frustrating this is. I had a massive surgery 2 years ago (on my spine) and had to rely on support from everyone! I asked every single one of my siblings and good friends to donate a week and come and look after me and the kids. Everyone except my parents had to travel from interstate to do this. Anyway, we got through it. My little boy had his ‘diagnosis’ appointment on the day of my surgery. So I couldn’t attend, but knew what the outcome was going to be, so no surprises there.
    I hope you have some good friends and family around who can give you some support. That’s the quickest way to get back to being healthy and getting on with our demanding lives. All the best!

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Good, The Bad and The Biting. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

