Pour Your Heart Out: Blogging Guilt

Every once in a blue moon, you’ll see from me a different type of post.

And so is today’s post – from Things I Can’t Say – a fabulous blog I follow.  Her writing prompt today couldn’t have been more relevant: Do you ever have blogging guilt?

Well, that’s pretty easy.

Oh.My.God. Do I Ever.

Sorry, was I too loud just then?

Well – here you go. There are days where I feel like I have nothing to write about.

Funny enough, I WANT to keep this about our journey. I don’t want it to turn into rants about living in DC (too easy) or musings about hoarding shows (yes, I watch them to make me feel better). But then – how many times can I type about and bemoan what a craptastic day we had? How B once again struggles to play with our friends – and not bite/punch/kick/pummelize them for getting into his space? How B had a meltdown once again and kicked one of us in the face when trying to get him to take a break?

I mean, I want to make posts meaningful so that you (all 40 something of you guys now, woot!) can enjoy. I want you to nod and say, “been there, done that.”

But I’m not just a mom to a kid on the spectrum. I’m a mom to another cute kid, a wife, a sister, and a friend. I’m sarcastic, silly, moody, bizarre. I love making people laugh. I love beer. I bitch incessantly about living in DC but can’t imagine living anywhere else. Where can that go on this site? I struggle with balancing everything on this blog.

You should see me some days…thinking I need to blog, but coming up short on a topic. I will start and stop incessantly. I tap my pen, surf around other sites, and just mull on something interesting. I am not a naturally gifted writer. I distract myself by loading the dishwasher.

And when I actually find something to write about – I feel guilty about putting it “out there”. Because, you know, “out there” is forever. I type, and delete, and type again. I keep clicking “Preview Post” to and then type some more. What if I write the wrong thing? What if I forget something to put into the post? What if I inadvertently copied someone else’s post? What if I can’t express exactly how I feel? What if Iwritetoomanyrunonsentences?

Well that was easy.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pour Your Heart Out: Blogging Guilt

  1. nice to meet you. my biggest fear blogging is that people will think I dont love my son. crazy huh. I tend to be a bit dark and twisty… and often full of guilt

    Like

  2. My husband is “nice” enough to periodically ask me why I blog about stuff–“do people really care?” Heck if I know, but I keep putting it “out there.”

    Like

  3. I worry about putting things Out There too. Hoarding shows are great they either make me feel better about the condition of my house or give me the motivation to clean.

    Like

  4. melmama says:

    I totally feel you and was thinking the same thing this week….man I need to think of a good post to write about. But alas, nothing thought provoking has hit me. Funny thing- the posts that I think are so thought provoking and moving never get as much feedback as those day to day ones I just throw out there.

    Like

  5. Frelle says:

    i get blogging guilt and blogging fear too. im glad to read honest words from your heart. and im mom to a daughter on the spectrum and I have invisible disabilities. Nice to meet you!

    Like

  6. Shell says:

    Remember that this is your space and you can write whatever is on your mind!

    Btw- for PYHO, you don’t have to stick to the topic I write about, either. It can be about whatever you want to pour out. 😉

    Like

  7. When I started my blog I didn’t have a plan for it to be about a particular slice of my life. I’ve put some pretty diverse topics out there and the only thing that binds them together is me. Tonight, after a battle royale getting my boys fed, clean & in bed, the only thing I’m writing is this comment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

