An Open Door

This past week has been pretty hectic. Shockingly, I still find this unexpected.

The biggest change obviously is the change of Mayor Bee’s aftercare. He started on Tuesday. Over the long holiday weekend he kept asking to go there. He just was not believing us that the school was “sleeping” all weekend. I fretted all Tuesday morning, as I “really” wasn’t sure if Transportation was actually going to get him there. And if so, when. I was assured late the previous week that everything was approved – and he didn’t have to change ECSE schools, thank God. But after everything that has happened I couldn’t be too sure of this. But he did make it just fine – I think the new trip adds 15 minutes to his time on the bus after his AM school.

His new teachers said he has done very well. He likes the small class, and the outside time. Small class = much more attention doted on Mayor Bee. Now, again, he’s not there a long time (and with the early closing – 3:30PM – it does still irk me from time to time) but he’s getting the most out of it. He even napped at least two of those days. I don’t know how they did it. They tell Husband, “they are good back rubbers and patters.”

Time will tell of course how this works out but right now it’s working. Husband adjusted his work schedule to get him in the afternoons, which now makes the AM routine a bit more crunched. I now have taken on the job of drop-offs and pick-ups for Mayita so my afternoons are a little more hectic. I have to get my tasks done by a certain time to hit the commute at a good moment as to not sit in a sea of cars (you can relate I bet). But I guess I will take that over the constant worry about incidents, suspensions and other things, hmm?

Speaking of the other school, we are keeping Mayita there for the moment. It’s definitely awkward, not seeing both of them there. Truth be told, I am still smarting from their handling of the situation. There were things that were not brought to our attention that perhaps should have been earlier. Documentation of his “incidents” were probably not recorded as throughly as they should of been. While I understand the reasoning of why staff chose to do that – it only prolonged the situation. What’s worse – it took a sick teacher with no backup plan to cause the chaos. No one knew how to “handle” Mayor Bee, and when push came to shove, it was not good. There was no warning – just a “suspension” (my words) until his IEP can be changed.

So, yeah, it’s odd seeing those same people that pushed my son out of there still be nice to me.  I know my daughter is getting great care in her room though – and at this time, it’s the reason we are keeping her there. I grin and bear it for the moment. A loooooong moment.

But let’s not dwell on that – take a look at these cuties swinging on their swingset. Hard to believe it’s February here with how they are dressed.

My Swingin' Monkeys

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Daycare, Life, PDD-NOS, School. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Open Door

  1. Alexandra says:

    best of luck to you — life is hard, isn’t it? just keep praying, God is looking after you.

    xx

    Like

  2. AspieSide says:

    It is so hard to know what the right path is! All we can do is try our best and do what we think is best. Sounds like you are on the right path. Good luck, will be thinking of you and your family.

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Top Ten of 2012 | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

