Calm My Crazy – Not All Rainbows and Unicorns

Looking back, it’s been a difficult few months. Between Mayor Bee’s suspension and subsequent removal from his aftercare, transitioning to the new aftercare, schedule changes, sick kids, and my surgery – we’ve had a lot on our plate to juggle.

Sometimes it’s hard to accept that parenting (and life itself) just isn’t what you see on sitcoms, read in books, or follow on your friend’s Facebook updates and tweets. It’s not all rainbows and unicorns, I tend to say to myself QUITE a lot. You get lost in the all the activity surrounding you – and that you don’t know if you can ride it out.

But some days you do look up and know that you might have just rode through yet another storm. You don’t realize at first, of course, but then – like the angels singing from heaven and the light shining in your eyes – it’s there. Sometimes you do see the rainbow on the other side.

And just like that, you take a deep breath in…and know that another rocky patch will come your way. But for now, just enjoy the pretty sight.

Calm My Crazy - My Rainbow

My favorite rainbow – O’ahu 2005 after a monumental rainstorm on our honeymoon.

___________________________________________________________________

I’m hooking up with a BRAND NEW linky from According to Denise – check out her Calm My Crazy linky!

According To Denise

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Calm My Crazy, Family, Life, Magic Moments, The Lows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Calm My Crazy – Not All Rainbows and Unicorns

  1. Denise says:

    There really ARE rainbows sometimes. Never seen a unicorn, though 🙂 Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  2. This is so true…we spend so much time going through the storm, we don’t realize when we’re out. Hopefully you’re out for awhile now & can just enjoy for awhile!

    Like

  3. I love to point out the rainbows to my girls. They are so far and few between and are so very special. Even though they seem to be the same, they are unique in time and place. It is so very important to relate that in life. Beautiful post!

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing – the ugly truth, and the beautiful hope. Enjoying the sweet moments, make the tough ones just a little bit easier to handle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

