Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes…

Ack.

It’s been a while I know.

Lots been going on…end of year stuff mainly. We are now in a “break” between his ECSE and his summer stuff. He will be staying at his aftercare full-time for the summer. That will be nice as A) being at one place is good for routine, and 2) being at one place minimizes my future logistical nightmare.

You see, B will be going to one place. M is going to another…they are not quite near each other. B’s aftercare also starts on the later side – like 8:30 AM. So, hopefully I will be able to drop one kid off, then the other, and possibly make it to work before lunch. At least I don’t have to shuttle him between two places, I suppose.

B’s end of the year party was bittersweet at his ECSE. There is a 99% chance he will not go back to this particular ECSE next school year. Now that his aftercare is back in our “home district” – it is more likely that he will be enrolled at his “home school” (which does have an ECSE program. Not all the schools in the county do). So while the bus ride will be a LOT shorter, I know he will miss his teachers and other buddies. I won’t know truly until July but I have a feeling it will happen.

B with two of his buddies from ECSE. LOOK at that social interaction.

His aftercare has been great for him, save for some administrative and logistical things. They had a graduation ceremony for the kids. Now, silly me, thinking that B was not graduating and not moving on to kindergarten, or wherever, wasn’t really aware that I was supposed to go to this. Er, until the day before when I finally thought about asking a teacher. Why yes, she said, all are invited. B has a speaking part. And everyone gets a little certificate.

Well, bleep. Guess I gotta rearrange my work schedule.

So, Husband and I both go and we were surprised. Because not only did B have a speaking part, they also gave him a crash course in some dance moves. You see, the class was practicing a dance to perform, but they practice in the morning. B of course does not attend the morning because of ECSE. So when the teachers knew we were coming they really worked with him.

The video is amazing in itself that it’s 4 and 5 year olds to begin with. However, I also need to also mention that there are kids like B – whether they are on the spectrum, are ADD or ADHD, or even have other behavioral difficulties. And that is why I can’t help but both smile and cry while watching it over and over again.

Lastly – I’m tweaking this blog slightly. In the past year, I’ve realized that I’m not liking the title of this blog. So I’m changing it. I’m getting someone to ACTUALLY design it. And that might give me the kick in the pants to post a bit more about…whatever.

It’s kinda like I’m graduating.

Boo-yah! I got my diploma and I’m outta here!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Daycare, PDD-NOS, School, Special Needs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

