D is for Derecho!

Friday night, we got a nice little weather lesson.

As I was rocking Mayita back to sleep around 9:30 PM that night, I could tell that something was a’brewin’. The wind started to pick up and I could hear thunder in the distance. Typical summer storm, I thought to myself.

Very quickly, a series of massive thunderstorms rolled through our area. The wind started hollering something fierce. The wind gusts were crazy powerful. The rain was pounding and at one point even rained sideways. Our power started to flicker (“oh GOD no no no” definitely went through my mind) but stayed on.

B woke up and Husband calmed him down because of all the racket outside. I am proud to say that he did not completely freak out. He was more curious about what was going on outside.

Mayita, shockingly, was asleep during the storm itself. This is eerily similar to last year’s “The Dreaded Fire Drill” incident.  

The next morning, we found out that was no ordinary storm. Or storms, for that matter. It was what is called a derecho- “a widespread and long-lived, violent convectively induced straight-line windstorm that is associated with a fast-moving band of severe thunderstorms in the form of a squall line usually taking the form of a bow echo” (thanks Wikipedia). It was fueled in part due to the massive heatwave here and a change in the jet stream.

See Related: Derecho: Behind Washington, D.C.’s destructive thunderstorm outbreak, June 29, 2012

We were EXTREMELY lucky. We have buried power lines, which drastically reduced the chances of power outage (though not totally). And we live in a fairly new (under 10 year old) development – any large trees that hadn’t been razed for homes were not directly near our house. The only thing we “lost” was our FIOS TV service for most of the day.

We know a lot of people that were not as fortunate. There was is a lot of destruction – downed power lines, uprooted trees, damaged property. Sadly, there were a few fatalities as well. We followed the news all weekend – and stayed home because we weren’t sure what awaited us “out there”. We kept it cool with Water Play and going to the pool in our ‘hood (also, lucky that there was no damage there either).

So I was quite surprised to see this when I pulled up to B’s preschool this morning. Thankfully, his school is fine and is operating normally. He would have been extremely disappointed otherwise. Here’s hoping my friends get their power back on very, very soon.

The uprooted tree at B’s preschool

The building next to B’s preschool that met a new friend, Mr. Tree.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to D is for Derecho!

  1. Chrissy says:

    CRAZY!

    Like

  2. Wow, glad y’all were okay! We have awful storms too here in Alabama and it freaks me out every time.

    Like

  3. Glad you were ok. And that definition is going to earn me cool points with DH tonight. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

