Happy 15 Months Mayita!

Today M is 15 months. Holy crap.

So, she’s like, a true toddler. It seemed like yesterday that she started walking (ok, it was two months ago). She progressed so fast…once she learned that she can keep up with B. Now she’s able to tag along with her big brother almost anywhere he goes!

She can hold her own against B. This comes in handy at daycare, where she is easily undaunted by any typical obstacles. The teachers are amazed that few things bother her. She shrugs off your basic bumps and bruises like a pro.

While her talking skills are very rudimentary, she’s an expert pointer. Points at EVERYTHING. She knows what she wants and is not afraid of using that first finger. 🙂

She’s…just so happy. She giggles all the time. If you can get her to laugh, it’s the sweetest sound in the world. When her eyes light up and her little mouth breaks open into a wide grin it’s a beautiful sight.

Mayita at 15 months. I’m pretty sure she was having a DIVA moment right before I took this picture.

Music especially makes her smile. She’ll sway back and forth and even do a a little squat move when a song she likes comes on. She loves “Itsy Bitsy Spider” and “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” the best.

At her appointment yesterday, she actually was able to stand on the scale. Granted she wasn’t amused about being naked in and standing, but she did it. She is 22.2 lbs, 29.5 in, and in great health.

At 18 months she will get the M-CHAT (Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers) which we never did for B. Of course, there is a higher probability that if one child is diagnosed on the spectrum, that another one will be as well. The doctor asked my personal opinion on how she is compared to B at this age. I’m definitely no medical professionl, and while I never like to compare my children, I can honestly say they are not the same at this age.

Speaking of B – I had to bring him along. His school has a break this week – I worked from home 3 days and Husband has him for 2 days. I forgot about this and then it was too late to change the appointment.

Stressful would be a polite way of putting how it went. He wanted my attention constantly while I was trying to talk to the doctor. Even though he ate before we left, he ended up eating M’s snack I packed (making her EXTREMELY unhappy). His listening ears were definitely not on as he refused to sit still in the exam room. Then, right before the nurse came back with the shots, I snapped at him (because of course this was the end of 3 days of juggling work and mommyhood in the same house). Oh, the waterworks started. So I had to deal with a toddler wailing because she was being held down for shots, and the boy was wailing because I am a mean mommy.

Awesome.

But we survived…and that’s something I won’t feel like repeating anytime soon. I’ll definitely remember to look at the calendar when scheduling her 18 month appointment!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Love, Magic Moments, Mayita. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy 15 Months Mayita!

  1. Denise says:

    I hate taking 2 kids anywhere but the doctor is especially awful.

    I must say it would be a lot of fun to see A and Mayita dancing around to Katy Perry 🙂

    Like

  2. OneLoCoMommy says:

    We should try that – they could be the next YouTube sensation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

