Oh Joe…

What is with people?

So today (rather, yesterday) it was Joe Scarborough, host of “Morning Joe” on MSNBC that really got the bee in my bonnet. In an interview relating to the movie shooting in Colorado – he starts out with “You don’t want to generalize…” and then did the EXACT opposite:

“As soon as I hear about this shooting, I knew who it was. I knew it was a young, white male, probably from an affluent neighborhood, disconnected from society — it happens time and time again. Most of it has to do with mental health; you have these people that are somewhere, I believe, on the autism scale. I don’t know if that’s the case here, but it happens more often than not. People that can walk around in society, they can function on college campuses — they can even excel on college campuses — but are socially disconnected.”

Ok – I can’t even try to wrap my head around the fact that he associated autism is as a mental health issue. (Um, it’s not Joe.) Or, the fact that he made such a diagnosis that the alleged shooter is on the spectrum that when, in fact, we do not know if he is. (I think this is where the HIPPA privacy comes into play).

The fact is, his comment just assumed that people on the spectrum, especially boys, could have a tendency to do something so atrocious. It’s ignorant. It’s presumptive. And it’s just wrong.

I mean, didn’t we JUST get through 50 Cent’s tweeting controversy?

I find it even more heartbreaking because one of Joe’s sons is diagnosed with Asperger’s. And as we ALL say in the community – one person with autism is JUST one person with autism. He should know better to judge other children on the spectrum. We as parents are faced with prejudice and judgment from society for our children as it is. We certainly do not need your words to fan the fire.

If you so feel the urge – make your voice known by signing the Change.org petition: Joe Scarborough, MSNBC: Retract your statements about autism and the Colorado shooting

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh Joe…

  1. Denise says:

    What a stupid and ignorant thing to say. What is wrong with people.

    Like

  2. ang says:

    WOW – what a horrible, horrible statement to make! Now the bee is in my bonnet! Love that you’re speaking out on this! Stopping by to say HI! from the #totallysocial link up! Visit me at http://jugglingactmama.blogspot.com 🙂

    Like

  3. comeoverforcoffee says:

    Definitely a dumb thing to say – by someone who should know better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

