Preparing For a Friend’s Move

We have seen the sign out on their lawn for a couple of months now.

My neighbors have put their house on the market. They of course have the right to put their house on the market for whatever reason. That’s not the point of this post.

The reason it makes me sad is that their son is B’s best friend.

“R” is a mere 4 months younger than B. They literally grew up together – whether on playdates, at the pool, playground, or merely running around in the street.

In addition, I am good friends with “A” and we swap typical boy stories. She is one of the few people that I can be as frank about B’s meltdowns and situations and she doesn’t judge.

They are two peas in a pod. “R” is B’s right hand man. They would tear around the yard, screaming and laughing at the same time. They both have those motorized cars and will drive around our Circle chattering away. When they are indoors they will play with their matchbox cars or try to scurry through those pop-up tunnels.

I have talked to “A” about the interest on the house. There is a part of me that hopes that no one makes an offer on the house, they would take down the sign, and we can all co-exist again in happy harmony.

But the house went under contract last week. I am devastated. Don’t get me wrong – I am happy they got an offer. “A” has told me that it’s another family with kids – may be even a little girl Mayita’s age.

They are not moving far – it’s not like it’s another state. We promise that we will keep in touch. Technology is awesome with Facebook and e-mail.

However, it will still be different. One of his allies is moving away, and I have to explain that a new family is moving in. That “R” will no longer be around to push trucks down the driveway or splash around in our little pool.

I still have to explain to B why the little girl who used to live next to us is gone. AND took her swingset with her. That was October 2011. 😉

Those new neighbors are very nice as well – but their kids are significantly older than B. Again, not quite the same.

So, does anyone have any tips on explaining when their buddy moves away?

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Mayor Bee, Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

