Bye Summer. #SadPanda

This past weekend, heavy storms rolled into the DC area. While not as severe as our derecho, they were definitely wicked.

What those storms also did were cool our temps considerably. This morning it felt like fall, not summer. I know, meterologically speaking, Autumn began September 1st. Realistically speaking, in our area it can be well into October before we call it “fall”.

Anyway, it’s finally time to show some snazzy memories of vacation! The highlights:

1. B learns to surf. Well kinda. For an almost 5 year old, it’s still pretty impressive.

2. B wins from one of those stuffed toys from the “Claw Crane”. You know, the game where you position the robotic arm, thinking you are going to win that awesome teddy bear and it slips out of the robotic clutches?

Well, B won a stuffed star while on vacation.

We were at a Wal-Mart and he begged to play. We decided it would be his reward if he behaved…and on our way out we gave it a try.

Taking his best shot

Believe me, we told him that it was all in fun anyway. Husband only helped him a smidgen – B actually pressed the button for the arm to lower. We held our breath, knowing it could fall out. It didn’t. We were dumbfounded. Even the lady watching us screamed in delight.

Winner Winner Chicken Dinner!

3. We ALWAYS go for ice cream while on vacation. It’s one of our family traditions. Didn’t even matter that the two days we went it was cloudy or raining. 🙂 This year, even M got into the act when I fed her some of my hot fudge sundae. Needless to say, I think she has a sweet tooth.

B with his Pop Pop (and Spongebob ice cream)

Yum! Hot Fudge!

Now, just hand over the hot fudge and no one gets hurt.

4. Lots of brother/sister bonding. Well, for the most part. M is now at that tender age where curiousity will get the best of her…much to B’s chagrin. He’s become possessive of his toys as she toddles towards him. Then again, there are times that he calls out to her wanting her to play. Siblings, sheesh.

Sibling bonding on vacation

5. Beach fun = tired kids. Which means Mommy and Daddy had about an hour or two in the afternoon to do…nothing. Sometimes I watched TV, sometimes I played on the computer, or I sat outside. If only I had a large enough yard to put a huge sandbox and wavepool – I would be set.

Fun at the beach

And with that, farewell to the muggy summer days and sweltering summer nights. Bring on fall!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Fun in the Sun, Life, Magic Moments, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, Siblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bye Summer. #SadPanda

  1. Mindi says:

    Fantastic summer memories! As much as I loved summer this year I am certainly glad to be hopefully done with the muggy days of DC summer. It has been a HOT one!!! And I LOVE all things fall. Bring on everything fall. Where do you guys like to do fall stuff like pumpkin patches?! One of fav places is Cox Family farm even though it’s a haul for us. So totally love it!

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      We like Temple Hall (that’s the Corn Maze) and Ticonderoga. We have never done Cox Farms – have heard that it can get crazy on weekends (which is the only time we go). This year we are doing Pumpkinville out near us.

      Bring on the Pumpkin Spice Lattes!

      Like

  2. I live in the DC area! Ok, now that I’m passed that excitement, I’m sad to see summer go too. Although these cool mornings and evenings are pretty awesome for dog walking, and bike riding!

    Like

Leave a Reply

