Sickness and Injury BE GONE!

How this week has panned out:

Monday – I get a call from B’s morning school to find out that his ECSE bus drove off without him. And here I thought we were done with transportation issues. I haul ass from work to his school to take him to ECSE.  That’s about a 40 mile roundtrip and almost $10 in tolls, thank you very much public school bus.

Apparently there was some “miscommunication” between the bus driver and the school about where the bus needs to pull up, or something like that. But since we’re weren’t there to witness it – the only thing we could do is call Transportation and bitch again.

Tuesday – Mayita is sent home with a 103 fever. Daycare teachers have been calling it a “fever virus” because a fever was the only presenting symptom. Called her doc to be told that as long as it doesn’t get worse, just ride it out. Oh, and don’t bring her back to daycare. Spent the rest of the day trying to appease a cranky toddler.

I get a call from a Transportation supervisor and we seemed to have resolved the issue. Supervisor wants to “nip it in the bud” and prevent further issues, which I give her a lot of credit for trying to help.

WednesdayHusband and I “split the workday” so that someone is home with Mayita. Mayita’s fever has gone away but she is still in a generally pissed off mood. And clingy. Poor girl.

Thursday – Since her fever is gone, I take Mayita back to daycare. A mere five minutes after I get to work, I slip and ate some major floor. The office kitchen was extremely slippery and as I was rounding a corner, wiped out. This prompts paperwork, the office cleaning crew to strip the floor (it was extremely shiny), and a visit to my primary care doc. I’m fine, right knee hurts, most other body parts slightly tweaked. Oh, and the talk of the office.

However, while I was trying to get an appointment with my doctor, Mayita’s daycare called and said her fever returned. WTF?!?!?!? So Husband has to go get her since I’m obviously in no condition to leave at that moment. I get the pediatrician’s office again and find about roseola, which means now I have to be on the lookout for some funky looking rash soon. Awesome.

So on Friday, I am taking a sick day, for my knee. Oh, and to take care of Mayita again. Maybe I can get a little mental health break too. 

Update: A few minutes after posting, Mayita woke up in a screaming fit. She screamed for an hour. Wiggling, flailing, screaming, the whole nine yards. After trying different tactics to calm her down, we were lost for words. I really started to question that it was “just a fever”. Ultimately I called her on-call pediatrician, who said for my sanity maybe we should get her checked out at the ER. I went while Husband stayed home with B. 

It’s a double ear infection. Well, no wonder. But since she had no other telltale symptoms. After a round of antibiotics and some numbing drops we were on our merry way. She already seems a little better, but time will tell.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Mayita, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

