It’s Not Just Me.

Well, after a topsy turvy week – it’s the weekend. That means it’s back to our Saturday routine.

The morning didn’t start off well. First, he slept in until 7:30AM. While most parents groan that it’s early – for us, it’s unusually late. When it happens, chances are good that he’s sick. After a fever and double ear infection for M – I was nervous.

At Karate, he wasn’t interested in performing the moves. He was more interested in “picking his skin” between his toes. And yes, it’s as disgusting as you think it is.  Since Karate is done barefoot, you can see that this is a problem. He did perk up for the obstacle course at the end, which helped redeem the class.

Like I said previously, it’s a good thing this is geared specifically towards special needs, because I’m pretty sure other Senseis would not be as patient.

In the afternoon, it was soccer. On Friday, I got an e-mail from “Coach Grandma” saying that players in Top Soccer this season are getting UNIFORMS! So exciting. It may not seem like a big deal (especially since they don’t actually have scrimmages or games) – but anything that makes you more like a “typical” soccer kid makes a difference.

We get to the field and “Coach Grandma” is there handing out uniforms. B ended up with a Youth Medium – a bit large for him (uh, he’s not even 5 yet) but as the saying goes, “he’ll grow into it”. Better loose than tight, though, right?

Sharp dressed man.

I’m happy to report that B did much better in soccer today. His same buddy from last week found him (the one he bit) and he trotted off. He performed most of the drills and definitely tried hard to listen. There were some minor issues (like, hanging off the Buddy like a monkey) but overall, he did well.

I even sat down in my chair.

Sitting down in the chair allowed me to observe other parents. Because I was always so focused on B, I don’t pay too much attention to other kids. Today, though, I had time to look.

It’s when I realized that B wasn’t the only child to wander off from the group. There were a few other kids that Buddies had to track down. Some didn’t want to “be” with the group at all. I’m sure that has to be difficult for the parents and Buddy. One child was focused on ripping grass and tossing it into the air. Another just wanted to sit on the ball – and I could feel the mom’s frustration, because I would feel the same way.

It’s these moments that I step back and remind myself how much we parents are similar. At one time or another, it’s “our kid” who doesn’t want to participate. It’s “our kid” that has a negative reaction to something we find so trivial. It’s “our kid” that melts down at the drop of the hat, making us powerless to help.

It’s not just me that deals with this.

It wasn’t “my kid” today – but that can’t be said for tomorrow. 🙂

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Life, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Not Just Me.

  1. Oh my goodness, I have been there so many times it’s not even funny. 😉 What a nice moment to rest and know you’re not alone. 🙂

    Like

  2. Bron says:

    I love those few precious moments where you can watch your kids like a typical mum! Your little guy in his soccer gear is so handsome.

    Like

  3. Alison says:

    I do always enjoy that moment of relief when it’s not my child!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

