How Do I Love Thee Fall? Let Me Count The Ways…

10. Whether it be in a pie, a roll, my coffee or in my beer – pumpkin spice is the smell of fall. I get giddy when I get my Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks (skim, no whip thank you very much) – the smell is simply divine.

9. Autumn leaves – there’s a crunch on the ground, a smell in the air and bold color in the trees. Blazing orange, yellow and red set against a netural brown make such a wonderful color palette.

It’s also an awesome song:

The falling leaves drift by the window
The autumn leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sun-burned hands I used to hold

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

-Words & Music by Jacques Prevert & Joseph Kosma, 1950
English lyrics by Johnny Mercer

8. Football. Football. Football. Enough said. Wait, one more time – F-O-O-T-B-A-L-L. Go team go!

7. The ability to forgo shaving my legs a few extra days since I’m wearing pants anyway.

6. Explaining to the kids that “when the sun goes to sleep the kids go to sleep” is so much easier when the sun  sets at 7:00 PM then, say, 8:30PM.

5. The premiere of new shows on TV. Even if we have to DVR them and struggle to catch up because there is never enough time. I will find out how Ted met the Mother, dammit!

4. Sweatshirts that are five sizes too large but feel so damn comfy in the chillier weather.

3. All the cool “fall” activities – hayrides, pumpkin picking, Corn Mazes, corn pits are so much fun. Ok, scratch the Corn Maze off that list – something about being lost in huge stalks of corn that supposedly make a pretty picture above is not exactly my idea of fun.

Corn as far as the eyes can see. Also, can trigger an anxiety attack.

2. I never used to be much of a Halloween person – mainly because I hated getting dressed up. However, living it vicariously through my kids is SO much better. They get dressed up, I get the candy. Because too much will hurt their tummies. Yeah, that’s the story that I’m sticking to.

Mayor Bee as, well, Mayor Bee – Halloween 2009

1. I celebrate the memory of one of the best days of my life.

Mama’s Losin’ It

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to How Do I Love Thee Fall? Let Me Count The Ways…

  1. Jennifer says:

    Fall is my favorite too!

    Like

  2. I was overly excited about skipping leg shaving this week! But now it’s hot in the afternoons again and I look like a beast. Loving the Starbucks fall flavors also. Salted Caramel Mocha has now pushed aside Pumpkin Spice in my book – have you tried it? YUM.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Ha – I thought the same thing about the weather – both kids are in shorts today because it will be warm in the afternoon. Can’t “quite” put away the summer clothes yet!

      I have not tried a Salted Caramel Mocha but it sounds utterly enticing! Thanks for the suggestion!

      Like

  3. Ginger says:

    Great list!! We have some of the same “loves”, especially the shaving legs one! LOL!

    Like

  4. You listed all my favorite things about fall too! I love to pull out my jeans and boots. And getting darker earlier is God’s gift to mothers. I’ve been known to adjust the kids’ clock and get away with it because of the darkness outside 🙂

    Like

  5. bigguysmama says:

    Oh my goodness, how did I leave less leg shaving off my list? lol Love my latte’s the same as you! I’m big on NFL football! My boys are too old for me to get them to bed earlier. Dang it! I’ll pass on the corn maze too! yikes! And congrats on your anniversary!

    Like

  6. kzemek says:

    Football is definitely the best thing about fall! Well, that and not having to shave our legs as often. Ha, ha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

