Tales from Chuck E. Cheese’s

It finally happened. Our first visit to Chuck E. Cheese (aka CEC).

I have been avoiding that restaurant. The biggest fear was sensory overload for B. Screeching kids zipping around the arcade area, totally unsupervised? The blaring music, pulsating lights and a cacophony of beeps, bings and zaps? Winning tickets that really don’t count up to any awesome prizes when you drag yourself up to the ticket counter, weary from the experience? Or hearing about all the adult fights?


Oh yeah. Fabulous.

But I got an e-mail from the mom of one of B’s former classmates who really wanted us to go. And I had to face my fear of the CEC.

Don’t get me wrong – I have been to a Chuck E. Cheese. I think I was 10. And one of THE best birthday parties was when my parents gave me a birthday party at Showbiz Pizza, a whole 1 1/2 hour trip away. (Note: Showbiz Pizza is now affliated with the CEC but back then they were different). Back then, there were mechanically controlled puppet band shows which were the coolest.

Things change, as I come to find out.

Most things are the same – you know the games and the tickets for crappy stuff. But there’s no more band – there’s just CEC on the stage. By the way, CEC has undergone a makeover of sorts – now it’s the singer from Bowling for Soup that will be the voice.

All the “birthday celebrations” are queued up digitally and play out on one of the  multiple TV screens. It seemed a bit drab to me – not exactly what I remembered from the good ole days.

This is how they do the celebrations nowadays. With a slick produced video and some employee participation

B, on the other hand, found Mecca.

He loved the games. He loved the rides. He found that Skeeball was awesome. Thank goodness these parties come with tokens because we went through one set in quick succession. (Luckily, the mom gave us another set).

Woo hoo! I got one in!

One of the many rides he just HAD to go on.

Winning some more tickets. For what? I have no idea.

And yet another ride. He rode as many as he could feasbily get on.

While other moms let their kids to explore on their own (and CEC does “brand” you know as a security measure, not a bad idea) I was very nervous about that. Especially as I discovered that B wanted to play every game. No matter if someone else was playing it – and especially if it wasn’t one of his friends. I had to play referee quite a bit so that B didn’t bogart someone’s play time.

Regardless, he had such a grand time. So awesome that he barely ate a slice of pizza and a cupcake before wanting to go back out. It didn’t help that his other buddies from the old class were there too – a reunion of sorts. Even his teacher from last year stopped by for a bit – it was nice to catch up with her.

Of course, this doesn’t mean he’s going to have a birthday party there. Not right now. Not by a long shot.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tales from Chuck E. Cheese’s

  1. Pingback: Three Years Ago… | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

