Why We Walk, Again.

This is the second year for our Team to walk in the Washington DC Walk Now
for Autism Speaks. Once again, I was floored by the generosity of family and friends who donated to our cause. I thank you again (and again) for the support. I hope you know much I appreciate it.

We were once again a “Top Team” and to date we raised a whopping $5,001.11.

This year besides the standard begging people to donate to our Team, I coordinated a Zumbathon.  I wasn’t sure what to expect coordinating my first fundraiser – like, if anyone will show up. My instructor suggested also holding a raffle – which meant I needed to contact some area business to see if they would donate something. Thankfully most places took pity on me.

All in all, almost 30 people showed up and we raised $271 dollars after “overhead”. I guess it’s not too shabby for our first time out. If I do it next year, I definitely have some things to think about.

As for the Walk itself, it was forkin’ freezing when we woke up that Saturday. Husband took a look out and said it was 39 degrees outside! We loaded up with layers and loaded down with blankets for the kids.

This year, things went a bit smoother. First off, there were no other events going on at the Mall. Well unless you count the Million Puppet March, but they didn’t start until later. So, we had very little traffic coming in. We managed to get to the event and set up our spot in Team Village at 8:45 AM. This was great, except that it was still over an hour before the Walk started and we were freezing.

A friend and I took B and Mayita out and about to meet some of the invited guests. Like, Talking Tom…and Geoffrey the Giraffe…and the Hogettes (of course). The funniest was when he saw the mascot for the Alpha Xi Delta (ΑΞΔ) sorority – a teddy bear. All the sorority sisters ooh’ed and ahhh’ed over B – and he loved the attention.

We finally started and were grateful for the walking to warm us up. The sun peaked through for a short time, and we had a nice walk.

We walked for the 1 in 88.

We walked for awareness.

We walked for research.

We walked for compassion.

We walked for those that cannot advocate for themselves.

We walked for our family.

And hopefully we walked for you too.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Family, Life, Love, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why We Walk, Again.

  1. You did great with fundraising!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

