Review/Giveaway: Berenstain Bears What Would A Friend Do? Board Game

Recently, B and I were given the chance to test drive a board game. If anyone knows B – the opportunity to get his hands on anything is too good to pass up.

The game, Berenstain Bears What Would A Friend Do?, is about helping children with special needs understand social situations. It’s an extremely simple game. You pick which of the four corners you want to start from, roll the die, and move along the path. The ultimate goal of the game is for every player to arrive in the middle for the picnic with Brother and Sister Bear. Therefore, there are no “winners” or “losers”; rather, it’s a more relaxed atmosphere.

When you land on a space, you pick up a card from the Friendship Card stack. In the Friendship Card stack, there are three types of cards – Multiple Choice, Act It Out, and Give an Example. Seemed self-explanatory enough.

However, if you land or go past a picnic basket, you pick up a card from the Picnic basket stack. On these cards, players are asked various questions about picnics. For example, what they would bring on a picnic or they would bring on the picnic.

There is also an “Obstacle” spot that you would move spots back, but I ignored that because I knew B is to young to understand that concept. For older kids, though, it should be fine.

So, we got started. B seemed very interested in the game and counting his movements. I would help him by picking out his Friendship card, reading it out loud  and guide him towards an appropriate answer. Sometimes he got it, and sometimes, not so much. For example, he knew how to give an example on how friends include each other in an activity or how to say “sorry”.

The age range for this game is 6-12 years, and he is definitely on the younger side. Some concepts were a bit hard for him to grasp. For example, one Multiple Choice card was about a friend forgetting to invite him to a party. But I played along, and I think that helped him get the feel of how a board game is played.

I think he can definitely grow into it and learn a lot from this game. I also believe that this would be beneficial at one of his school classes, as there would be more kids (his age) that the interaction would be more fruitful. The board game accommodates 2-8 players.

And now…I’m hosting my first giveaway! That’s right – some lucky person will win their own own Berenstain Bears What Would A Friend Do? game, direct from Childswork.

Now for all the gobbley-gook:

RULES

  • Go to Childswork and leave a comment here about another product you would love to try.
  • For an additional entry, go to the Childswork-Childsplay blog and comment on one of their blog posts (like, oh, say, MINE). Leave a link in a separate comment below.
  • Each person is allowed a maximum of two (2) entries.

TERMS & CONDITIONS 

  • The deadline to enter is Monday, November 19, 2012 at 11:59 AM EST.
  • You must leave a way for me to contact you in case you win (have your email address listed in your profile, post your email address with your comment, etc)
  • I will select one winner at random (Random.org) and post the results on my blog within 48 hours of the contest deadline.

Good luck!

Disclosure: The opinions expressed above are 100% my own.  I received the above mentioned product from Childswork to facilitate this review for free. No other compensation was received. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”– Diane
About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Review, Special Needs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Review/Giveaway: Berenstain Bears What Would A Friend Do? Board Game

  1. Marla B says:

    I would love to try the Berenstain Bears Good Behavior Card Game also! Thanks so much!
    blandmj at gmail dot com

    Like

  2. I would also like to try the
    Bullying in the Girl’s World Book w/CD since my daughter started going to a bigger school this year.

    cweller75@gmail.com

    Like

  3. kathy pease says:

    I like the Dr. Playwell’s Learning Self Control in School Board Game

    Like

  4. Saver Sara says:

    I like the Stop Relax Think Board Game

    Like

  5. amy deeter says:

    The Talking, Feeling, & Doing Board Game

    Like

  6. Saver Sara says:

    I posted on your Childswork-Childsplay blog

    Like

  7. Angela Neynaber says:

    I would love to try the I Feel Stamps for my daughter.

    Like

  8. susan smoaks says:

    i would love to try the
    Stop Relax Think Board Game

    Like

  9. DanV says:

    I’d also love the 60 minute jumbo timer

    Like

  10. Beth P says:

    I like the Who is Being Helpful? Friendship Farm Puzzle Game. Good lesson to teach and mom can always use a little help 🙂

    Like

  11. Sarah Yurga says:

    Stop Relax Think Board Game would be great for my daughter with autism- thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

