And NOW The Real Progress Report

So, ironically, after posting my whiny diatribe, I come home to find that B’s “actual” progress report showed up in his backpack.

His progress report not like a report card – no A’s, B’s, etc. His progress report lines out his IEP goals and whether or not he’s meeting them (or at least making progress).

At this time, he has four goals. In general layman’s terms:

1. Keeping his hands to himself. He’s making progress but still struggles when seated next to others (circle time, lunch). I can’t help but worry about this one, for obvious reasons.

2. Playing well with others. Better news from this one. He can play with a friend for up to four minutes with help of 2 prompts. He’s also been working on “tolerating” activities that he is not obsessively interested in, which is a plus.  This is hard at home – Mayita is now at “that age” where she wants to play with his toys as well.  Too bad I don’t have space for two individual playrooms!

3. No kicking/touching/pulling. This one is kinda amusing. He’s increasing his verbal communication method of telling a friend to stop. However, it’s being used in conjunction with the touching. 🙂 So, the teacher will work on providing specific examples on how to take turns in conversations and asking for a specific object.

4. Take a chill pill.  The teacher wrote that B is taking himself to the “quiet area” on multiple occasions to take his breaks. Sometimes with a cue from the teacher, but this is progress. She also noted that his tantrums have decreased exponentially – something we noticed at home as well.

I’m proud of his hard work. I know it’s not easy for him. He’ll get there though. Eventually, right?

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, IEP, Life, Mayor Bee, School, SPD, Special Needs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And NOW The Real Progress Report

  1. Rosey says:

    Progress is to be celebrated. : ) Glad your little one’s reaching little milestones (that will inevitably turn into big ones). Happy Monday. I’m visiting you from Mom’s Monday Mingle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

