Bah Humbug?

Oh boy, it’s Christmas Eve.

And this year I just don’t have the spirit to celebrate. I’ve tried really hard. I did get the Christmas cards out. We have done some cookie decorating (and eating). We got the tree up and decorated – though this year Mayita seems to have gotten a wee taller than our “no ornament boundary” could take.

B got to see Santa, though Mayita wanted no part of that.

This year the holiday season really flew past me. I just don’t “feel” the spirit. Work has been tough. Then, with the recent tragedies it’s getting harder to celebrate the season. So many are without loved ones, their homes, etc. that I definitely feel guilty.

Also, each holiday season, I start to wring my hands. Because when school’s out, the routine is tossed out the window. While it isn’t the end of the world (because, clearly, the Mayans took care of that for us) it does throw our family into some sort of unplanned chaos.

B, used to a structure and planned activities, becomes hyperactive and repetitive when he’s not getting as much stimulation. Believe me, we try really hard – and we are exhausted trying to expend his energy. Now that he doesn’t nap, we try “quiet time” – sometimes it works, most times it doesn’t.

I also have to mention that it’s during the holiday season the past two years that B has ended up suspended from daycare. The disruption of routine and schedule threw him off, which then resulted in aggressive tendencies.

Two years ago, the director at the daycare informed us that “they could not work with his needs”, literally, a week before Christmas. Last year, his teacher was sick after the New Year and her other staff were not able to work with his needs. Or didn’t want to, who can say. After some more incidents, he was suspended “indefinitely” until we revised the IEP. Ultimately, we left that daycare and enrolled him in his current morning school.

Hopefully this year we have made enough progress that we won’t have the same issues. I’ve tried hard to anticipate and plan for anything that could have happened. But I think that’s what prevented me from enjoying the season. And that makes me a bit sad, to know that I was thinking so much that I wasn’t able to simply have fun.

So, I guess tonight Husband and I will be in a marathon wrapping party and I will do my damndest to be cheery for the kids tomorrow. I know, deep down, that I’m blessed with so much. 🙂

Ho Ho Ho. ‘Tis the season and all!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Daycare, Life, Ramblings, The Lows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

