The Birthday Extravaganza!

To say that I am tired is an understatement.

Even though Mayor Bee turned 5 on New Year’s Eve – the past weekend was his “birthday weekend”. It started on Saturday with his “bouncy party”. We rented space at a local play area and fulfilled a sensory seeking kid’s dream. Bouncers, slides, all that good stuff. Twenty three of his closest buddies came to run around and get their sillies out.

Yes, that’s right. Twenty three kids came to his party (four didn’t show for one reason or another). We actually invited about forty kids total. Yes, I’m quite right out of my mind that we invited that many.

We invited all the kids that he goes to school with, including his new after school program. There are the buddies from his first ever playgroup (and fellow mom friends). There were friends from his martial arts class. You’ve got siblings of friends. Then there were the classmates from his school last year that we kept in contact.  That’s how we ended up inviting so many.

One of the most common myths of individuals on the spectrum is that they are antisocial. I am one to stand here and shout from the mountaintops that this is not the case with my son. No doubt that we have had to clear hurdles regarding socialization and proper behavior techniques. We work on them all.the.time. But there are few people that can look at B and say that he is not a social butterfly.

Ok, sometimes he can be TOO social, a little too “in your space”, and he can still react poorly to something not going his way, but in the overall scheme of things he continues to improve.

In fact, he did get into a little fisticuffs with a schoolmate on one of the slides. But, in a change, he was not the aggressor. In fact, even though he cried, he was able to tell us in a calm manner what happened, and “that it was an accident”. He didn’t retaliate and we let the other parent deal with their son.

I mean, holy moly people this was BIG for B.

Speaking of socialization – many (at least 60%) of the attendees were special needs.  Personally, I want the same chances for those kids as much as I want them for B. To be able to go to birthday parties and have a good time. To not be judged if there is a meltdown. Happy to report that everyone had a mighty fine time and B relished in his birthday boy role.

I AM the king of my party

I AM the king of my party

Sunday we had the families together for the “family party”. My parents made the trek from PA and Husband’s family came over. The Redskins even made an appearance (granted it was on the TV, and they lost). More fun and cake ensued. It was a grand ole good time.

Mayita and B in the football finest.

Mayita and B in the football finest.

Now, we sent the grandparents back to PA and hopefully we can settle back down again. But boy what a weeklong ride for Mayor Bee!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Birthday Extravaganza!

  1. Lisa says:

    I love the part where you say you want the other special needs kids to have a birthday party experience. LOVE! My kids are often overlooked…it means the world to them and to me when they get invited!

    Glad he had a great party! My son loves bouncy places too…seekers unite!

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      I hope they all had fun. Obviously, B is a sensory seeker and other kids may not share his interests. But it’s important (I think) that all kids get a chance to do something, well, typical. 🙂

      Like

  2. Jen says:

    It was great! Loved seeing all the people who brought special food – not because they have to deal with that, but because was good reminder we’re not only ones with feeding “differences”.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      I loved that the Center was so accommodating to other kids’ needs. Fun Fact – the “party assistant” was the older sister of one of B’s buddies. And you can tell – she was wonderful with all the kids!

      Like

  3. What a week! It sounds like a wonderful time was had.

    Like

Leave a Reply

