Checking In: New Year’s Resolution

Well, so far not so good on the “taking care of me” bit from last week.

I tested positive for the flu. And, let me tell you, this is no joke. I was feeling “icky” starting Tuesday and by Wednesday I knew something was seriously wrong. It took all effort just to get the kids to their schools and back to the house.

someecards.com - It was brave of you to come into work with the flu and give us all the flu

I had the cough. The chills. The aches and pains. And by the time I made it to my doctor (ironically, which was to be my annual physical) I had the fever The doc took a nose swab and the lab confirmed it.

Luckily each of the kids got vaccinated early enough. But I didn’t. My doctor’s office ran out by the time I asked. I stopped at various stores but I kept missing them. Then, all the excuses happen – work, kids, Christmas. And, well, there you go. Bless my doctor because she prescribed Tamiflu and rest.

I’ve been laying low and now am starting to feel better. I know I was lucky. I hope I can get back to taking care of myself soon.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

