It’s The Thought That Counts, Right?

Hope y’all had a great Valentine’s Day.

For us, it was pretty low-key. We don’t do anything “special” for them at home – at least not yet.

Also, the night before I was at the animal hospital “after hours” because Jackpot still is not feeling better. In fact I had to have him “tapped” to drain excess fluid from his abdomen. All in all, about 2 liters (think soda bottle) were drained. Poor guy. 

The kids celebrated at their schools though. I know at B’s schools, each celebrated with some type of exchange. Mayita’s daycare had a “Sweetheart Celebration/Dance” which I couldn’t make it to but I’m sure it was fun.

Times have sure changed, at least in some places. At Mayita’s daycare, they wanted us to write just “My Friend” on the Valentines. Same with one of B’s schools. His ECSE class did allow us to write their names on the Valentines. It seemed a bit odd writing “My Friend” versus their classmate’s name. I guess it’s harder to sort out Valentines by each kid’s name, I guess. B did do very well signing his name to 35 classmates plus an additional 15 teacher/therapist Valentines (over a 2 day period, thankfully).

Usually the other great thing to look forward to is the candy with the Valentines. Next to Halloween and Easter, Valentine’s Day can bring in a good candy haul. In this case, ALL of the schools discouraged giving candy. Of course, I could see it coming – they want to avoid any allergy issues (understandable) and of course the obesity epidemic doesn’t help. You could give a “healthy” treat if you absolutely felt like you had to give something. Meh, I’ll pass. 🙂 

When I shopped at Target, however, the majority of Valentines did have some sort of candy attached to them. The only candy-free options (and granted, it was last minute) were: Justin Bieber, Hello Kitty, Harajuku, and Cars. Thankfully, the Hello Kitty ones came with a little notepad and the Cars ones had tattoos, so it worked out.

So when the kids got home I got to see their stash. It looked a little weak.

Valentines

Where’s the candy?

There were a few pencils, stickers, a couple of tattoos. There were a couple of rebels that snuck in a lollipop. The best one that Mayita got her own Valentine – she’ll get good use out of the notepad from herself.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s The Thought That Counts, Right?

  1. kathrynann24 says:

    Hey! Happy post-Valentine’s Day! I did not realize the schools had so many rules for stuff like that. My son is 2 and half and is not in school yet so I have yet to realize all the rules and things to come… I noticed you child has Autism and SPD. My son does too! We just got the diagnosis last August and I blog about it a lot to get through as well. Always nice to meet a fellow Autism mom. Stopping by from SITs! Have a great weekend!
    ~Kathryn @ http://www.singingthroughtherain.net

    Like

  2. YUMMommy says:

    I’ve never heard of schools requesting the names of classmates not to be written on their cards. I guess it’s some sort of safety precaution maybe. I hope this won’t be the case when my daughter starts school this fall. I think sending home a list of the other students is good way for parents to learn more about the children their kids hang out with and see which ones they’re becoming friends with.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      It’s either teachers don’t want to inadvertently forget someone – writing “My Friend” is easier to match than names? I always try to find out the names of his fellow classmates.

      Like

  3. I know what you mean about the stash looking weak, but it’s not like my 3 kids need any more candy, we’re still working on halloween/xmas stash. We seem to have common interests, I’m a working-driving-minivan-mom who loves my book club and TRIES to work out. I blog to help maintain my sanity too cause I think i’m loco. we live in NC. anyway glad to have found you through SITS today! new follower!

    Like

  4. We are at all different stages with the Valentines in our house. Sixth grade – definitely no cards, just candy. Third grade – cards with candy, but no names written on them. Kindergarten – Cards with candy and classmates names written on them. I think this last one is more about writing practice than anything else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

