It’s My Birthday. Woop Dee Dee Bleep.

Ah, the celebration of my birth.

But I don’t feel like celebrating.

Our dog’s condition has shocked us. He’s slowed down considerably.

Last Wednesday evening, I took him for bloodwork. He ended up getting an abdominal tap because his stomach was so distended. Essentially, what happened was that fluid accumulates in his abdomen, making  him quite uncomfortable. The abdominal tap is a procedure that a needle is inserted to drain the fluid. All in all, two liters of fluid was drained.

They bandaged him up and we were able to go. We followed their instructions on removal of the bandage, yet he still was leaking fluid. So on Friday night I took him back to get rebandaged. This time, we left it on all weekend, and it seems like the draining has stopped. That’s great news.

Jackpot spending the weekend bandaged up.

Jackpot spending the weekend bandaged up.

However, our dog’s internist has prescribed yet another new medication, thereby tweaking Jackpot’s regimen again.  Husband went out to get it filled and found it that most places do not have it in stock. That’s never a good sign – and sure enough when I heard some price quotes I nearly fell over. It was beyond what we ever thought it would be, price-wise. Additionally, there is no guarantee that this medicine will work.

This is when we have to face the horrible, tragic truth. That, at some point, this is it. It’s clear that we have done far and beyond taking care of our beloved pooch for the past three years.

Jackpot is moving a lot slower. He’s not really eating. He’s having extreme difficulty jumping up into the car or onto the bed. The diarrhea is constant. It cannot be good for him. But he seems content laying on our couch and dozing.

Cripes. Such a hard thing to go through. A lot of tears have been shed in the past few days. Every single movement by the dog is being analyzed – both good and bad. I’m creating my own social stories to help me understand. This is not easy but we have to think about what is good for Jackpot. I don’t want him to suffer.

Anyway, it’s my birthday and I can cry if I want to.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, The Lows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s My Birthday. Woop Dee Dee Bleep.

  1. Lisa says:

    Hugs. I’m sorry to hear that Jackpot hasn’t turned the corner with this latest bout of health issues. We faced something similar in July of last year with our beloved pooch.

    Thinking of you….

    Like

  2. Awww sorry that this year didn’t provide you with a happier bday, but you know what? Birthdays are really not that big of a deal, as I am being forced to admit in my “old” age, so I wish you many very happy days and much success with your blog! (this is coming from a fellow SITStah, btw)
    Best to you!

    Like

  3. Britton says:

    I feel bad you have to go through something like this. Losing a pet is never easy. Happy belated birthday. Stopping in from SITS.

    Like

Leave a Reply

