I Called You On The Telephone…

Who shall I call today?

Who shall I call today?

Yesterday I got an e-mail from B’s ECSE teacher. When the e-mail starts out with, “Wow…” you know something’s going on. Sure enough, when I called her last night, she explained that B has ramped up his attention seeking behaviors. He also definitely hit one of his classmates. For what – God only knows why. We all know that one *little* thing can set off a chain reaction.

His teacher tag teamed with the other teacher, who was able to get B out of the stress zone. Up to the Assistant Principal’s office he went. What was strange was that one of the things he kept saying to them was, “I don’t want to talk about it”. He has said that to us as well recently, and we’re not sure where that is coming from. Do we say it at home? Is it the TV? I honestly don’t know.

She did say that he has been doing better at school and this is just another set back that happens. Also, they haven’t had an opportunity to play in gym or outside for two days so this may be a factor . (To that, I say that is a big factor).

She tried to be optimistic – that anything happening now can help her when she is revising the IEP goals. For example, if he continues to be antsy, he could have “movement breaks” every hour. If he needs sensory input they can add more to his diet.

I also explained to her in more detail about Jackpot’s declining health. She will work on a social story for when the time comes. Knowing the dog, who knows. Earlier this week we thought it was coming and now it seems he has perked up. But I don’t want to be unprepared. She may even work in a theme – not about death, mind you, but about family pets.

I am trying hard to not let it wear on me, the ups and downs of B’s behaviors. I now have triggered my own panic alarm of the future. Last week, we visited a typical After-Kindergarten program which is necessary should B enroll in mainstream Kindergarten. Now, I’m worried that it will be too much. The size was “typical” (around 25 kids) and even one of the teachers has had experience with autism. But even while observing the noises, lights and activity, I am concerned that B may not like it.

Well, two steps forward, one step back…still is forward, right?

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS, Ramblings, School, SPD and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Called You On The Telephone…

  1. Lisa says:

    We are in a similar pattern here. I feel for you, I do! I will say that when my oldest (ADHD) and 2nd born (Autism/ADHD) do not get to go outside for recess, we see a lot of seeking behaviors emerge…and they are not pretty. I hope he can get outside soon–it makes a huge difference for our kids.

    As for kindergarten, listen to your gut. Does your district allow for gradual mainstreaming? In our district, some kids were borderline after pre-K. In Kindergarten, they gradually mainstreamed them from the “instructional” classroom into the regular ed classrooms…a few even got mainstreamed after the first trimester…some by the end of the third. Might be an option. Hope it all settles down soon. ((hugs))

    Like

  2. OneLoCoMommy says:

    Thank you. I will look into the concept of gradual mainstreaming, but honestly I have no idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

