Review: Tonx Coffee

I am a coffee addict. I admit it – I’m a sucker for a good cup of Joe. I love the fragrant aroma that wafts from our machine every single morning. I love how coffee will zing throughout my body starting from the first sip to the last drop. There are days that I cannot fathom my daily routine without coffee.

I don’t think I’m a coffee snob; however, I do turn down the watered down muck that my mother sometimes calls coffee. In times of desperation, I will turn to the office coffee machine, only to be dismayed at the dishwater in my cup.

I recently had the opportunity to review Tonx coffee. Tonx is a coffee subscription service that will ship to you freshly roasted coffee for your enjoyment. It’s not cheap ($12 per 6 oz. bag shipped every week or $19 per 12 oz. bag shipped every other week) but if you are a coffee lover and never want to be left without coffee, it’s a good plan. 

My box was shipped USPS Priority Mail, the standard method of shipping for Tonx.  I was absolutely giddy when I ripped open the box. My box contained my sample, plus some neat stickers, a guide for good coffee, and a cute shirt (which sadly I can’t fit into, but cute nevertheless).

I wish the picture had smell-o-vision because it was aromatic!

I wish the picture had smell-o-vision because it was aromatic!

A great coffee starts with a great bean. According to my box, my coffee sample was from Quilanga De Loja in southern Ecuador. Learning more about my geography I see that it sits ontop of the Andes and is home to many small coffee bean farms. I thought it was a nice touch that the bag noted the date of roast by Tonx. In my case, it was February 13, 2013. I received it February 21, 2013, a mere 9 days (this is a good thing, as it’s not too soon after roasting).

After looking through the box, Husband and I decided to give it a go. We measured out the coffee, ground it, and brewed it.

We separately grind our coffee then brew. Look at that color!

We separately grind our coffee then brew. Look at that color!

Oh, the smell was heavenly! And the taste was divine. It was not bitter; rather, it seemed like it had a touch of brown sugar and nut. Like the bad said, it was tasty and sweet. Husband concurred that has been a delightful couple of days drinking this fine roast. 

The final product - a delicious cup of coffee.

The final product – a delicious cup of coffee.

We were very pleased by Tonx. I’m not sure if we will subscribe, but it was well worth learning about subscription coffee service.

Tonx-FreeTrial-BoxOnWhite
Everyone can sign-up for a Tonx free trial (to try the coffee). Just head over to Tonx and sign-up.

Full disclaimer: Tonx will ask for credit card and automatically subscribe users to the lowest monthly subscription unless they cancel. They provide very clear messaging and reminders (via email) before moving users to a paid subscription.

They believe that once you try their fresh coffee, you’ll want more!

The Tonx team is made up of experts with years of experience from seed to cup. They know that home-brewed coffee can be just as good as your favorite cafe. It’s not as hard as baristas make it out to be – but it all starts with fresh beans, which you can’t get if you buy bags of beans from grocery stores. Pre-ground coffee is even worse. Great coffee actually has very little to do with fancy gadgets and expensive gizmos.

The best part? Your Tonx Coffee subscription is very easy to manage, and they have great customer service because we appreciate every customer. They will always be transparent with how your subscription is being managed, and it’s very easy to pause, cancel, or adjust your quantity for your needs. If you ever need tips or advice on how to get the most out of your coffee, they are always available to chat.

This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Tonx Coffee.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

