IEP Meeting Time!

I was all sorts of nervous leading up to yesterday’s annual IEP meeting. We all can get a little anxious going into a potential minefield.

IEPmeeting

Cartoons may be reproduced in their entirety for non-profit educational use ONLY!

But, Husband and I were pleasantly surprised that it was not that bad. It wasn’t too long and everyone seemed to agree on B’s progress and goals. No changes were made to his services, always a good sign. His teacher is also going to work on a Behavior Intervention Plan (BIP) that will also be helpful to work on his behavioral issues.

Then I realized – this IEP “really” only goes to the end of this year. Because B starts Kindergarten, we will have an amended IEP meeting towards the end of this year to look at next school year. That one will probably be a doozy, since we’ll now have a new cast of characters to deal with.

We haven’t even formally decided what we are doing in regards to Kindergarten but we are  trying to flexible about our options. Except for placement in a self-contained classroom, which is a big emphatic NO. 

Not only that, but I just got notice of our eligibility services meeting. Two days after I’m supposed to register him for Kindergarten. I think the County is trying to smother me with meetings.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in IEP, Mayor Bee, Occupational Therapy, PDD-NOS, School, Special Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IEP Meeting Time!

  1. abc mama says:

    Oh IEP meetings! They never get easier. That cartoon is perfect.
    We had a meeting for our oldest today, luckily he is doing great but I’ve never had a meeting in 5 years without issues. Today, only 1 teacher showed. Now I have to raise hell and find out why.
    Being an advocate for your child is exhausting, so worth it, but exhausting!
    Good luck going into K! I’m sure you’ll make the best decision for your child 🙂

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      The OT didn’t show – I was disappointed in that. Also the Ass’t Principal was covering for another school because that one was sick so it impacted the flow of events.

      However, with that said, I think we had such a good rapport this past year communicating that we worked around it. Next it happens though…lol

      Like

  2. Pingback: Adding A BIP To Our IEP. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

