Spring Break.

It’s Spring Break this week for B’s schools, so he is home. And while other people we know are off to the beach, or to Disney, or to Busch Gardens (PS – we jokingly hate you), we are staying put at home.

Husband and I juggled our work schedules to be home with him. It doesn’t quite have the feel of Florida, but it will have to do.

Monday I worked from home. In the past, I can work from home in limited cases (like this, where I have no backup). I don’t know how other WAHMs do it (if kids are not in school or daycare), but it was difficult balancing the needs of my kid plus my deadlines. For example, I got to experience calling into a virtual meeting which all I can say is thank goodness for the “MUTE” button on my cell phone. 😉 

It did snow on Monday (seriously) and we did get some time outside. B was all sorts of confused, as we kept telling that Spring was here…but yet I just put the snowsuit on him to go outside. Luckily most of it was melted by the afternoon allowing B to once again proclaim that Spring has arrived.

Mother Nature not getting the memo, once again.

Mother Nature not getting the memo, once again.

Yesterday, Husband was off. He took B to a local bouncy place, then to McDonald’s. God bless him for doing that. They then went out to test drive new bikes. You see, B apparently is very tall for a 5 year old and is now low-riding his fancy 14″ bike from 2 years ago. Let me tell you – low-riding is not a good look for B. 😉 Husband found a good used 20″ bike that hopefully will stick around for more than 2 years.

Today, Husband has to take Jackpot the dog to “get tapped” again (continuing saga). Poor guy’s tummy is distended, again. However, the dog is hanging in there, and so we are too. Bloodwork that was done late last week shows that his albumin is rising slightly and his CBC panel was normal. Which means, hopefully, progress in the right direction.

We did make one decision, however. We abandoned his hypoallergenic dog food routine, because Jackpot wasn’t eating it. If you saw what the canned food looked like, you wouldn’t either. He is back to a low fat diet which which also not cheap but at least he’s eating it.

Mayita during this time has been going to daycare just like any other day. And tomorrow, B will join her. We are going to have a trial day with this school to see how he likes it. If he does, it might be an option for next year (After-Kindergarten program).

It would be nice to have the kids in one place again. I have talked to the Director and Ass’t Director and both are aware of his needs. I “shouldn’t” be worried. But there will be quite a few kids there tomorrow, and a whole lot of new things happening might be too much. Husband will be on standby at work, just in case.

I wish I could share more exciting things, but after this week we will be happy to have limited meltdowns and fisticuffs!

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Mayita, Mayor Bee and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break.

  1. Mindi says:

    Hope you survive the week. Your almost there! We are on spring break next week in Charles County and my husband is staying home with the boys. Should make for an interesting time. I’m not even sure why I’m busting my tail cleaning the house today because after a week with 2 little ones at home it will surely be a big mess again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

