Registration.

Here we are.

The big day. Kindergarten registration. The day I wasn’t sure was going to come, given our struggles the past couple of years. Now, his teachers say, it’s time for mainstreaming.

And I did it. Waited over 2 hours with other parents in the gymnasium of the elementary school. This was arriving way before registration even started at 9:00 AM!

But I did run into some ‘hood friends and talked to a couple new ones and it made the time, well not necessarily FLY by, but manageable. 🙂

For all intents and purposes, B is enrolled in a public, mainstream Kindergarten class. Of course, with options. But I did it. It’s one of the few positives about this day.

However, I still have to take B to the school for a “reading assessment”. Which I’m not sure what that’s about. Honestly, I’m not sure what an appropriate reading level would be. Guess we’ll find out soon enough.

Next up: Eligibility Services Meeting Thursday. Yeah, it’s a long week.

Kindergarten SAMSUNG

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Life, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS, School, Special Needs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Registration.

  1. Krystal says:

    This is awesome!! Once I heard the word mainstream for my oldest son I was in happy heaven!! Way to go B – he will do great!! As for the reading assessment, I think that’s just to see where he is at with reading skills. Some kids pick up on reading very quickly while others don’t. My third son was reading and writing sentences at age 3! Scary huh?

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Yeah, I’m excited and also very anxious. But his teachers are definitely pushing this way and I can only hope it will work out. As for the reading assessment I get to take him in a couple of weeks.

      Like

  2. Lizbeth says:

    YAY!!! That is big news! Now deep breaths and don’t think about it till school starts. 😉

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      LOL yeah right. Now I have to make sure his After-Kindergarten stuff is arranged – only half days here in the county. Also, have to figure out how to transition him to the bigger classroom sizes. You know the deal. 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: I Wish. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

