My Autism Awareness

Author’s Note: I am linking up with themommymess today and recycling one of my “old” posts for you to read. In honor of Autism Awareness (and Acceptance) Month, this particular post was last year’s thoughts. For better or for worse, they haven’t changed.

Enjoy!

_______________________________________________________________

As you know, April is Autism Awareness Month.  Today is World Autism Awareness Day. Of course, WE don’t need to “be aware” of it. We live it every day.

So what am I aware of? I am aware that:

– my son is now 1 in 88 and 1 in 54.

– there are days that I absolutely adore my son.

– there are also days that I just want to lock myself in my room and escape.

– that my knowledge base keeps growing.

– there are times where I get a little too sure of myself and I miss a knowing “sign” of an impending B freakout.

– that, no matter how much I plan, organize, and anticipate anything that may happen, it still won’t do me a lick of good when he is kicking me with his feet and wailing his fists.

– that no matter what I do, people will still judge me when I cannot control his actions. People will judge me for using a sharp tone because I know he’s going to bolt out the door.  That I bark out orders and hover in case he freaks out. That I’m “that parent”.

– that some people will continuously say, “Oh, he’s just a boy” and “He’ll grow out of it”.  I’m also aware that I should give myself a gold star for not throat punching them, that I just give a weary smile and move on.

– that I miss having conversations without saying, “Oh hold on a minute….B GET AWAY FROM THE DOOR/STOVE/FIRE BREATHING DRAGON”. Or just drop off, mid-sentence, to intercept him from a potentially dangerous situation.

– that while I know my son is extremely bright there are times where it takes forever to unlock the simplest idea.

– that he is my world.

– that I’m not alone.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Autism Awareness, Mayor Bee, PDD-NOS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Autism Awareness

  1. Great post! The throat punch – gave me a big out loud chuckle – so true!!! We went to a park with a big playground today and I spent the entire time tracking my boy, stopping him from walking off with other families, reminding him to keep his hands down and every few minutes, the entire playground would hear me call his name & threaten to take his ribbon if he didn’t stay close. All in all – a fun couple of hours. No really, it was!!

    Like

    • LoCo_Mommy says:

      Yes we have lots of times when that is happened. I have been told to stand my ground with the commands and warnings (for consistency) especially at a playground like that. Sometimes it works…and sometimes, not so much!

      Like

  2. Fantastic post! I have a son on the Autism Spectrum so I completely understand and definitely are not alone. Hugs!
    Andrea
    http://www.daydreammama.com

    Like

  3. Chris Carter says:

    What a great ‘going green’ post to share! I love how you ended it- simple truth. And although I cannot imagine your life on this journey with your son, I admire you strength and dignity. Keep going strong MAMA!!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Love this! That last line got me. Some days my child is like everyone else, and then we hit a glitch and get stuck in his world for a while. I wouldn’t have it any other way though.

    Like

  5. Krystal says:

    I can relate all too well with what you are saying…and yes, you are not alone. In this crazy world that we live in and nobody else understands but us, you are in good company. Albeit company that hasn’t brushed their hair or has laundry piling up, you’re still in good company.

    Like

Leave a Reply

