C Is For Cancer, Not Cookie.

It’s cancer.

Those words still echo in my mind after the past few days of trying to absorb that sentence.

The biopsy came back malignant. Pancreatic cancer.

My parents met with the surgeon yesterday to find out what happens next. While nothing is for certain, the surgeon is optimistic that it is operable. They are planning on performing the Whipple procedure, in which parts of his pancreas, stomach are removed and then reconstructed. Additionally, his lymph nodes will be removed (as a precautionary measure).

The procedure itself is long – minimum six hours. Then he’s supposed to stay in the hospital for 10-14 days. On top of that, he will need a feeding tube. Knowing my father and his distaste for hospitals and anything medically inclined, I really hope they really be able to keep him there. For his procedure a few months back, I was told there were multiple instances when he attempted to bolt from his bed.

Tentatively, they set the date for mid-June. However, my father balked at the date (the 13th) because of superstition. It’s not even Friday the 13th, for goodness sake.

I don’t know if he realizes the severity of the situation. At the biopsy, he asked whether or not he can drive because he hates the way my mother drives. Yesterday, I was told that his main concern is eating surf and turf at Christmas.

My two sisters were at the farm over the weekend and both commented on his frailty.  He is unsteady doing many typical things, including walking. There is also a lot of sniping from both parents on the most trivial issues – because of the stress of everything going on. 

So, if you have a little prayer or some good vibes to toss my way, please do so. I’m beyond scared for what will happen next, even though I’m trying to keep a positive outlook. For those that gave me PanCan, thank you so much, I will definitely look into this.

But, still, fxck cancer. 


About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, PYHO, Ramblings, The Lows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to C Is For Cancer, Not Cookie.

  1. Lisa says:

    Nothing but hugs and prayers for your family and your dad. The fact that they can do the Whipple is a really good sign. Please know I am here if you need to talk…you can send me a message any time. PanCan is a great organization…and yes, I agree. EF Cancer…especially Pancreatic Cancer.

    Like

  2. laurapayette says:

    Sending positive thoughts your way and to your family. My FIL had pancreatic cancer about 10 years ago. My husband and I were just dating, so I wasn’t terribly involved in the surgery or recovery, but my FIL recovered well and hasn’t had any issues since. I hope that is the case for your father. Scary for sure.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      Thanks for your kind thoughts. Everyone is very optimistic and I hope that stays the case. I know there are quite a few success stories out there and glad that your FIL is one of them!

      Like

  3. Krystal says:

    Sending thoughts your way. I don’t know what you are going through but I know how hard it is to just worry and wait. The good thing is that there is optimism and hope. That is what you need the most. Much love to you and yours during these hard times.

    Like

  4. Definitely sending positive vibrations for a successful surgery, a drama free hospital stay and a yummy surf and turf Christmas dinner.
    {hugs}

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    He’s tough. I think the operation will be a success. Hugs and love to you. Anything we can do, let us know.

    Like

    • OneLoCoMommy says:

      I’ll be going up for the surgery so you might want to check with your brother to see if he needs anything then. Not that I’m worried about leaving – I don’t want him to be overwhelmed either. 😦

      Like

  6. Prayers that the surgery and recovery go as smoothly as possible. Cancer definitely blows.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Giving Thanks. | One LoCo Mommy

  8. Pingback: The End Of The Road. | One LoCo Mommy

  9. Pingback: Farewell 2013. | One LoCo Mommy

  10. Pingback: One Year. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

