My Rising Kindergartner.

Today is the last day of the school year.

Holy crap. Where did this year go?

What a long, strange trip it’s been.

I spoke to his ECSE teacher yesterday to go over the BIP. Lo and behold, it actually seems to be working. His percentage of incidents has gone down, which is great news. He’s also been more able to recognize taking himself to “the beanbag” or to “the corner” if he needs to calm down. So, we decided to roll the dice and make no changes to the BIP, passing it onto his next school.

At home, he still struggles to find a spot that suits him. Part of the issue is with a certain little DIVA that wants to follow him everywhere. It’s hard with trying to establish boundaries with B, let alone with a toddler who is still trying to comprehend the word NO. 🙂

And speaking of the future, we FINALLY made our decision. B will go to a typical Kindergarten. He will go to his home school, and hopefully all the work we’ve done previously with his transitional IEP meeting will help set the foundation. If not, well, we’re back to the drawing board.

Last day of school 2013

Last day of school 2013

B with his ECSE teacher. Truly a godsend this year.

B with his ECSE teacher. Truly a godsend this year.

After Kindergarten, he will go to Mayita’s daycare where they have an “After-Kindergarten” program. I’m worried about this too, but I’m banking on the fact that he loves this place so much that he will adapt. The program is actually on the second floor of the building so he will be “upstairs” like a big kid. I’ve been working with the staff and just keeping my fingers crossed.

I was beyond sad when I had to inform his other schools of our decision. They of course understood and knew how frustrating this past year was with cobbling three different schedules into B’s day.  Of course, you do what you have to do to ensure that you can still hold down a job and pick up your kids at a decent hour.

Part of the anxiety I face is based on the past. We’ve struggled in the past 3 years finding an appropriate, “typical” daycare that would work with him. And, yes, I’m a little bitter by the treatment we have received in the past.

But I see all the progress he has made. I have seen how hard he has worked to adapt to new things being thrown at him. I have seen him trying to not only communicate his needs but to be able to express his frustration appropriately. I have to let him try again, if that what he wants to do.

Today during the car ride, my bag tipped over in the front seat, spilling out most of the contents. After a couple, er, “choice” words from me, I was politely informed from the back of the van that my language was not appropriate. Not only did I want to bust out laughing at his deadpan delivery, but I wanted to hug him for obviously saying the right thing.

Appropriately.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Autism, Daycare, Family, IEP, Life, Magic Moments, Mayor Bee, Ramblings, School, Special Needs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Rising Kindergartner.

  1. Krystal says:

    I’m so glad that you were able to find an arrangement that feels right for B. That is one of the hardest things we ever do. I was worried when Bug changed schools and when Silly went back to public school – but it all worked out. It will all work our for B too! Now, if only B can help my littles – they seem to like “choice” words as much as their mommy.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The BIP Update. | One LoCo Mommy

  3. Pingback: Farewell 2013. | One LoCo Mommy

Leave a Reply

