Fun At The Farm!

With my father’s surgery on the horizon, we decided to pack up the kids and schlep up to the farm this past weekend.

Ok, “farm” is not quite accurate. It’s a non-working farm, as in a whole lotta land and not much farming on it. However, the “family farm” once operated as a dairy farm, and has been held in our family since the Civil War. Judging by all the old and dilapidated buildings, it’s not hard to believe.

“Childproof” is not a term in my family’s house. Husband said pretty much the only thing missing from items about the house were flaming samuari swords. Yes, there are guns locked up in the massive cabinet (dad hunts as is typical of many Pennsylvanians), exposed outlets, plenty of closets, and goodness knows what else.

I get extra freaked out about the stairs. When I was Mayita’s age I tumbled down the same steps I navigate the kids about now. I’m sure that was quite the traumatic experience for my mom; happy to report that I was just fine.

However, it’s also fun. It’s beautiful, a bit mountainous, with breathtaking views. And very peaceful. The country is quite a change from our busy, scheduled life. The times that trucks or cars zoom past the house it’s more of a shock then commonplace. It’s a good thing that satellite TV and internet made it up there, I’ll just say that though.

We got the kids out for some exploring one day. Even Pop Pop came out for some fun.

Checking out a bird at the old chicken coop

Checking out a bird at the old chicken coop

Checking out the farm jeep

Checking out the farm jeep

Mayita and Pop Pop

Mayita and Pop Pop

B helping to adjust the mirror

B helping to adjust the mirror

Sunday we gussied up to go to church. The church “down the road” dates back to 1895, when my great great grandfather help construct said little white church. I was baptized there, and my younger sister was married there. Not many go there now, but it’s something we always do when we all get together.

Yep, "Supper Signs" still exist!

Yep, “Supper Signs” still exist!

Churchin' Time.

Churchin’ Time.

We went out to brunch afterwards, then had to start gathering everything back into the van. I took this last picture of B with his Pop Pop, and upon looking at this now I’m quite aware how frail my father has gotten. He has always been a strong man, and looking at this now makes me very sad at what has happened to him. Please say a few nice words on Thursday, ok?

IMG_2831

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love, Ramblings, The Lows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fun At The Farm!

  1. Denise says:

    Love the photos. Sending lots of healing thoughts to your dad. Thinking of him and you a lot. Hugs and squeezes.

    Like

  2. Krystal says:

    Such beauty and history…I can see why it means a lot to you. Sending your family positive energy and thoughts for a quick recovery and lots of healing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

