Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad.

Forty years ago, on a sweltering day in Houston, my parents took a vow in holy matrimony.  It was a very small ceremony at my grand aunt’s home in which I’ve been told that they bounced a check for the keg of beer. My older half-sister, who was four at the time, can recall not wanting to let go of Mom as they exchanged vows.

And through it all – through living with his parents, living in a mobile home, my dad on the road for working on construction projects, living leanly and a little less leanly – they have come through it.

My dad accepted my mom’s first daughter as his own. Then they welcomed me and my younger sister. Lots of great childhood memories – vacations, trips in the car to boring historical landmarks, an amusement park or two. Then there was football games, marching band competitions, basketball games to attend. They put two daughters through college and watched as they welcomed three grandchildren.

There have been the arguments and the difficult times. Job losses, moves and then disability (Mom) and retirement (Dad).  They watched as my older sister went through a divorce and me as I underwent fertility treatments. They have learned to understand B and his challenges.

And, of course, my mother’s kidney issues and transplant, now my father’s cancer.

Today, they are celebrating by going back to the surgeon for Dad’s follow-up appointment. Hope there is still steam to continue celebrating anniversaries!

It was a groovy 1973, judging by my dad's threads.

It was a groovy 1973, judging by my dad’s threads.

About OneLoCoMommy

I live in Northern Virginia and and I look like the stereotypical suburban mom, for better or for worse. My son plays baseball and takes karate (albeit adaptive). My daughter is a gymnastics diva but rolls with the boys in T-ball. I've been a Room Mom and Playdate Coordinator. I work full-time, try to work out, and love my Book Club. However, I also blog on my experiences on our ASD, SPD and ADHD journey while trying to be a better parent advocate. All in a life's work.
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad.

  1. Lisa says:

    Our parents were married the same year–just a day apart! My parents would have celebrated 40 years yesterday. (My mom had a similar ‘do as yours in her wedding pics!!) I hope they can celebrate many more…best wishes for your dad at his appointment!

    Like

  2. My parents celebrated 50 years of marriage when my Dad passed away, just shy of year 51. May your parents have several more to go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

